ABB Employee Reviews

Found 80 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have proffesional Electrical Design and drafting experience
Intermediate Electrical Designer & Drafter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 February 2015
Reviewed P&ID’s of Electrical Drawings & Specifications
Design fiber optic architecture termination diagram under supervisor.
Calculate voltage drops, size conductors, cable trays and lighting requirements
Performed detailed drafting of plant layout drawings (power, grounding, lighting and electric heat tracing) and associated single lines and schematics/wiring diagrams
Preparation of lighting calculation, distribution system for EHT.
Prepare 3D model layout drafting.
Modify As-Built drawings according to Red lines.
Assisted Senior Engineers to review vendor documents.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Local Business Unit Manager (Former Employee) –  Lachine, QC26 January 2015
Good company with very high work ethics. Some overlap in their different divisions,. Open to reallocate people when necessary. Good & successful addition of the Thomas & Betts group in the Low Voltage division. ABB is very strong in the High voltage arena.
Pros
Relaxed atmosphere
Cons
Overlap in different business units causing some frustration.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent support with knowledgable team
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Northern Alberta, Northern Saskatchewan23 January 2015
ABB work ethics are top grade with excellent support it has been a pleasure to be a part of their team
Pros
Good Communication
Cons
Need more weekly conference calls with clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Proposal Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON16 January 2015
I learned a lot at ABB. For example I learned time-management skills, multi-tasking skills, and technical knowledge the industry. All my co-workers were very nice people and are very good at their jobs.
Pros
Flexible hours, free coffee
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Project Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON5 January 2015
very satisfying to win projects all over the Western Hemisphere.

I was there for over 5 years and the company took good care of its employees.
Pros
Monthly Bagle Breakfast
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Travel
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Burlington ON1 November 2014
If your young and have no family and want to see the world , this is a good place to start.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management, unclear and or inconsistent direction
Intermediate Electrical Drafter/Designer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 August 2014
not enjoying the experience, not the worst but certainly not the best.
lack mentoring
poor drawing quality due to inconsistent or lack of clear direction
Pros
not many
Cons
cheap with fringe benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked & Underpaid
Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 April 2014
Myself and other Construction Manager did everything with no help or thanks from anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work
Supply Chain Specialist (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON4 March 2014
good leadership and accountable, team player, good coordination
Was this review helpful?Yes2No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a good company
Automation Engineer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 December 2013
You can find a lot of chance to contact many new technologies there.
You can work at company, and can go to work at site also, it needs versatile skills.
Many projects are challenge, but I like it.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great guys to work with, nice bosses, decent pay currently a great 7/7 shift
Red Seal Electrician (Current Employee) –  Cristina Lake Alberta18 December 2013
This specific job site required a lot of slow paced work which could get very boring at times.

I learnt some knew industrial parts and how to use a little more finesse with my work "take the time to do it a 110% proper"

management was fairly organized for the most part

hardest part is being away from home.

Most enjoyable part of the job is pay day.
Pros
nice camp, good guys, good shift 7/7, good tools and material.
Cons
pay could be a bit more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Saint-Laurent, QC18 December 2013
Great team, great management and a great experience overall
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with friendly people
Renewable Energy Electrical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON20 November 2013
I gained a good understanding of the workings of hydro plants, solar plants, combined cycle plants and microgrids.

I developed skills such as ownership of problems and produce effective and timely solutions and enhanced my oral and written communications skills with the ability to write technical reports and make presentations with ease.

Learned how to deal effectively with clients, vendors and contractors and have had site experience pertaining to QA and commissioning.

Very friendly environment and people are very helpful indeed.

The hardest part of the job is driving from home to my workplace and the most enjoyable part is when I have a challenge and able to solve it as per management expectations.
Pros
Friendly Environment
Cons
NIL
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in short term contract
Project Administrator (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON18 October 2013
Typical day at work would involve a lot of data entry and running of reports. Whatever the project team required for their live projects I was able to assist with.
Most enjoyable part of the job was the organization duties and working with a smaller team to a common goal.
The hardest part of the job was feeling helpless when something unforeseen would happen during the course of the project that we were unable to predict and we would have to act in the best interest of the client on the fly. Being reactive instead of proactive can cause stress.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
will not work foe them in the future
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 July 2013
the work wasn't difficult, vary slow pace so the days dragged on.
didn't get much opportunity to further your knowledge.
the management was under qualified and rarely were prepared.
the guys were good to work with vary low stress work environment
job security and loyalty were some of there biggest problems.
Pros
good pay close to home
Cons
bad management made to many mistakes with regards to pay check
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Automation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 June 2013
Truely a great place to work. Highly recommended. Productive work environment and friendly atmosphere. The "work hard, play hard" mantra makes going into work very enjoyable. The hard work and dedication that is given is really shown through the company's weekly meetings.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyed People
Service Technologist (Former Employee) –  Mississauga ON27 May 2013
Very Demanding at times when on 7 24 on call Learned to handle people with problems or customer relations on phone or in-house
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Field Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON14 April 2013
Barrier between Management and the employees.not proper work planning.

please contact me for my personal opinion.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
poor job planing
Was this review helpful?Yes15No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a nice place to get EPC experience here.
Electrical & Heat Trace Designer (Current Employee) –  Calgary,AB3 April 2013
My major job is doing Cenovus project in our office, I got both offsite Pad and Pipeline electrical design experience in oil & sand field. In addition, I have learnt and ability to handle multiple projects at a same time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first drafting job
Drafter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 March 2013
got experience in electrical drafting
met interesting people
Pros
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,456 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9