ABB Employee Reviews

Found 88 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
REGIONAL TECHNICAL SALES SUPPORT (Former Employee) –  Edmonton18 January 2013
ABB has a large portfolio of Electrical products that are well engineered, that are benchmarked in the industry.

In most positions your day is autonomous with little management interventiom. Positions generally provide job fulfillment and technical challenges, with a decent corporate work environment. Co-workers provide mutual support to develope business plans
Pros
free coffee, company golf tournament, achievable bonus plan
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The right place to work in
Service Contracts Administrator (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON26 July 2015
Great benefits and Open environment to express yourself
Flexible working from home option
Great team and co-workers
Supportive managers
High investment on training and development
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Start
Junior Hardware Automation Design Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 August 2015
Working at ABB started my career. I learned alot from the people around me. My coworkers helped everyone out with their vast knowledge.
Pros
Diversity
Cons
Lack of Training
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of guys to work with
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 December 2015
It was a really good group of guys to work with, and the foreman was very easy to get along with. They were very organized. typical day included cable pull, or termination.
Pros
Good schedule
Cons
Short term work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABB was a very good company to work for. Skills were reckognized and advancement was awarded.
Liaison for the Western Region/Bid Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 November 2015
I helped run a Mega Transformer repair facility.
I took all incoming calls and directed them accordingly.
Responsible for all inside sales.
ABB has an extensive network, I met some very good people globally.
ABB gets 5 stars in my book.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management, unclear and or inconsistent direction
Intermediate Electrical Drafter/Designer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 August 2014
not enjoying the experience, not the worst but certainly not the best.
lack mentoring
poor drawing quality due to inconsistent or lack of clear direction
Pros
not many
Cons
cheap with fringe benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well structured organization
Mechanical engineering intern and part-time worker (Former Employee) –  Saint-Laurent, QC28 March 2015
This company has good management, good facilities and a good work atmosphere. I learned how to work within a multi-disciplinary team, how to follow various projects at the same time and improved my CAD skills.
Pros
Great cafeteria
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Automation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 June 2013
Truely a great place to work. Highly recommended. Productive work environment and friendly atmosphere. The "work hard, play hard" mantra makes going into work very enjoyable. The hard work and dedication that is given is really shown through the company's weekly meetings.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Fast paced working environment
CUSTOMER SERVICE - SPARE PARTS COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON18 February 2013
I loved working at ABB Inc.! I learned a lot and my day went so fast while at work. We had excellent team and people who were dedicated and hard working.
Only reason I left as I moved to USA.
Pros
excellent benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have proffesional Electrical Design and drafting experience
Intermediate Electrical Designer & Drafter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 February 2015
Reviewed P&ID’s of Electrical Drawings & Specifications
Design fiber optic architecture termination diagram under supervisor.
Calculate voltage drops, size conductors, cable trays and lighting requirements
Performed detailed drafting of plant layout drawings (power, grounding, lighting and electric heat tracing) and associated single lines and schematics/wiring diagrams
Preparation of lighting calculation, distribution system for EHT.
Prepare 3D model layout drafting.
Modify As-Built drawings according to Red lines.
Assisted Senior Engineers to review vendor documents.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Fair place to work
QC Electrical Lead (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB1 April 2015
They are just like any other company, fair, saftey orientated, team atmosphere, offers benefits, family balance and you dont feel like just a number
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work for
Coordinatrice d'expédition (Former Employee) –  Lachine11 September 2012
A typical day work was to assist the Vice-President
Manage all emails
Organize all meetings
Manage the VP agenda
Offer administrative support to upper management
Negotiate and manage all contracts with suppliers for the Head Office
Pros
great team spirit
Cons
wasn't long enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well disciplined and structured manufacturing facility
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON23 April 2012
typical day was to meet with employees and detail the work objectives for the day as well as dciscuss lessons learned from previous days activities. I learned that every employee contributes in their function at different levels and matching the individual contribution abilities with the needed task was a challenge. I was always suported by upper managment but the goal was to make everyone accountable for their part of the given tasks.Some co workers were independant and others needed coaching to finish the tasks at hand.the hardest part was to sometimes remove empoloyees that were not stepping up to task requirments.I truely enjoyed when we finished ahead of schedule and under budget.
Pros
training was well documented and followed up.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
electrician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 December 2015
ABB was good to work for as far as employees go. The electrical engineering and building design team has their issues, though.
Pros
4 day work week
Cons
Bad spot to get to
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Proposal Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON16 January 2015
I learned a lot at ABB. For example I learned time-management skills, multi-tasking skills, and technical knowledge the industry. All my co-workers were very nice people and are very good at their jobs.
Pros
Flexible hours, free coffee
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Project Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON5 January 2015
very satisfying to win projects all over the Western Hemisphere.

I was there for over 5 years and the company took good care of its employees.
Pros
Monthly Bagle Breakfast
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent first foray into the world of Electrical Engineering
ELECTRICAL EIT (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 August 2015
The people and their respective personalities, skill sets, knowledge and experience was fantastic. Everyone was willing to share and help you learn and improve and I couldn't have asked for more as an entry level engineer.
Pros
Crib, fruit basket
Cons
unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OIL and Gas Engineering work, Involved in PRE-HAT (Pre – Hardware Acceptance Test, Wellhead Modules
INSTRUMENTATION specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 March 2015
- Involved in PRE-HAT (Pre – Hardware Acceptance Test) activities for projects of (SAGD) Steam-Assisted Gravity Drainage Project.
- MRB’s reviews, Vendor documents approvals.
- Wellhead modules and Test Separators inspections and functional tests.
- Instrument troubleshooting and Calibrations.
Pros
Good Coordination, Team work attitude, respectful working environment
Cons
Travelling out of town, Short notice for urgent jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and great place to work
Commissioning Engineer Specialist on Deputation (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 September 2012
Great People and great place to work.
Challenging work and good work life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in short term contract
Project Administrator (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON18 October 2013
Typical day at work would involve a lot of data entry and running of reports. Whatever the project team required for their live projects I was able to assist with.
Most enjoyable part of the job was the organization duties and working with a smaller team to a common goal.
The hardest part of the job was feeling helpless when something unforeseen would happen during the course of the project that we were unable to predict and we would have to act in the best interest of the client on the fly. Being reactive instead of proactive can cause stress.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,616 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9