ABB Employee Reviews

Found 99 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Robotics Spare Parts Specialist (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON2 March 2016
-9-5 business environment. Professional yet Friendly
-Customers are key to all businesses success. What ever it takes, try your best to keep the customer satisfied. Follow-up Follow-up.
-Management is A1. Thank you
-All co-workers were very kind and helpful.
-The hardest part of the job was definitely time management and attention to detail. However the Team Environment helped with these issues. It definitely was a fast paced environment at times.
-The most enjoyable part of the job was being part of the Robotics Team which included many other departments world wide.
Pros
Team Environment
Cons
Workload at times. Stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement agréable et positif
Assembleur de noyau de bobine (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC12 February 2016
Assemblé les noyaux sur les bobines en respectant rigoureusement les étapes d'assemblage selon chaque type de noyaux.Fixer au montage un fond et un couvercle avec des attaches de métal et avec le pont roulant le déposé sur le convoillieur.
Pros
allocation pour vêtement, plan d'assurance gratuit et fond de pention
Cons
job très routinière
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
J'ai adoré travailler pour ABB
Représentante service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  St Laurent, QC5 February 2016
L'équipe de travail était très agréable, très facile d'approche.
Les connaissances et contact internes des membre de l'équipe était partager pour aider aux recherches de produit de différentes division.
La collaboration des fournisseurs internes et externes était une pratique courante pour facilité le travail de chacun et ce qui rendait par le fait même une ambiance de travail des plus agréable.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company issues
Manager (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC31 January 2016
Units compete against each other.
Most of the time units buy concurrence material at better price for their projects.

It has great benefits in health and retirements plans.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Electrical Designer/Drafter (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 January 2016
ABB is a very good company to work for.
The management is excellent, the colleagues are friendly.
The schedule is flexible.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of guys to work with
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 December 2015
It was a really good group of guys to work with, and the foreman was very easy to get along with. They were very organized. typical day included cable pull, or termination.
Pros
Good schedule
Cons
Short term work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
electrician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 December 2015
ABB was good to work for as far as employees go. The electrical engineering and building design team has their issues, though.
Pros
4 day work week
Cons
Bad spot to get to
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative work place and life long lerning experience. Company organized parties are fun filled.
Power Systems Senior Engineer (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON10 December 2015
I have worked hydro, thermal and solar power plant projects with substations.
The power projects of complex nature demands innovative solution. Engineering of the systems, design, layout, procurement, time schedule require team work with regular interface, coordination and attending many types of issues on daily basis.
It is important and a must to assimilate the specifications, contractual scope, owner and consultant expectations in the design, procurement and execution. Not to forget the contract changes for additional cost and time for additional work.
Job stress and multi tasking cooperation results in a project which becomes a mile stone and brings smile to all parties working for the project.
Job in ABB is challenging as well as interesting and helpful for personal growth of technical knowledge.
Pros
In-house and external training, and regular reviews of projects, and lessons learn meetings on project completion are eye opener for team members.
Cons
Higher expectations, loss of focus on project management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly environment
Senior Automation Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 November 2015
Supportive management and stakeholders and co-workers
Good environment when I worked on site during commissioning and construction
Lunch together with client, management and co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for but the management left alot to be desired
RAP Program Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Various, AB25 November 2015
The job itself was very fast-paced, coworkers were relatively good but the personnel in management were not approachable.
Pros
Plenty of work
Cons
unapproachable management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management, Terrible Pay.
QC Inspector / Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 November 2015
No room for advancement unless you're friends with someone high up. The pay was terrible, they treated their apprentices like garbage, and the working culture was very clique. you never felt secure here, as people who weren't in the "cool" crowd were constantly picked on and belittled. they promoted people with no industrial experience just because they were friends with the construction manager, that made for a lovely time, having someone boss you around and micromanage, that knew absolutely nothing about industrial electrical work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABB was a very good company to work for. Skills were reckognized and advancement was awarded.
Liaison for the Western Region/Bid Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 November 2015
I helped run a Mega Transformer repair facility.
I took all incoming calls and directed them accordingly.
Responsible for all inside sales.
ABB has an extensive network, I met some very good people globally.
ABB gets 5 stars in my book.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Traffic Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON6 October 2015
I enjoyed my 19 years service with ABB. Very generous company. I missed my co-workers. Fair management. I enjoyed interacting with the clients. I learned so much about i.e. automation, robotics, water treatment facility etc.
Pros
Bonuses, good performance review
Cons
Long commute
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People to work with
EPC Instrumentation Specialist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 October 2015
Honest and fair company to work for, above average benefits. Managers and Supervisors are easy to talk to and have an open door policy. Employees are treated with the utmost respect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continuous learning path.
Senior Purchaser-Supply Chain Management (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 September 2015
Productive and good working place to learn new things, face new challenges every day. Good working environment with flexible hours.
Management is very supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment for young people to develop
project scheduler (Current Employee) –  montreal31 August 2015
Professioal work place for young people to develop, offically english speaking environment and lots of opportunity to go oversea.
Pros
amazing cafetia
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Start
Junior Hardware Automation Design Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 August 2015
Working at ABB started my career. I learned alot from the people around me. My coworkers helped everyone out with their vast knowledge.
Pros
Diversity
Cons
Lack of Training
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent first foray into the world of Electrical Engineering
ELECTRICAL EIT (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 August 2015
The people and their respective personalities, skill sets, knowledge and experience was fantastic. Everyone was willing to share and help you learn and improve and I couldn't have asked for more as an entry level engineer.
Pros
Crib, fruit basket
Cons
unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for this company !
Business Development/Sales (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 August 2015
Be very careful with this company, in particular which business unit
you apply to.
In general, I was incredibly surprised at the complete lack of integrity displayed by management and the company in general. They covered just about every type of management transgression I can think of (lying, bullying, berating, manipulation). At some point you have to think that this behaviour is driven from the top down.

Having said the above, there are some good people that work here so obviously everyones experience is not the same. But again, I am a 20 + year professional who has worked for several big corporations and I have never seen or witnessed the type of behaviour displayed by the management of this company.
Pros
None
Cons
Lack of integrity throughout management
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The right place to work in
Service Contracts Administrator (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON26 July 2015
Great benefits and Open environment to express yourself
Flexible working from home option
Great team and co-workers
Supportive managers
High investment on training and development
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ABB. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,770 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9