ABB Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 73 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Travel
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Burlington ONNovember 1, 2014
If your young and have no family and want to see the world , this is a good place to start.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management, unclear and or inconsistent direction
Intermediate Electrical Drafter/Designer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 18, 2014
not enjoying the experience, not the worst but certainly not the best.
lack mentoring
poor drawing quality due to inconsistent or lack of clear direction
Pros
not many
Cons
cheap with fringe benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked & Underpaid
Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 17, 2014
Myself and other Construction Manager did everything with no help or thanks from anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work
Supply Chain Specialist (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ONMarch 4, 2014
good leadership and accountable, team player, good coordination
Was this review helpful?Yes2No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a good company
Automation Engineer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABDecember 19, 2013
You can find a lot of chance to contact many new technologies there.
You can work at company, and can go to work at site also, it needs versatile skills.
Many projects are challenge, but I like it.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great guys to work with, nice bosses, decent pay currently a great 7/7 shift
Red Seal Electrician (Current Employee) –  Cristina Lake AlbertaDecember 18, 2013
This specific job site required a lot of slow paced work which could get very boring at times.

I learnt some knew industrial parts and how to use a little more finesse with my work "take the time to do it a 110% proper"

management was fairly organized for the most part

hardest part is being away from home.

Most enjoyable part of the job is pay day.
Pros
nice camp, good guys, good shift 7/7, good tools and material.
Cons
pay could be a bit more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Saint-Laurent, QCDecember 18, 2013
Great team, great management and a great experience overall
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with friendly people
Renewable Energy Electrical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ONNovember 20, 2013
I gained a good understanding of the workings of hydro plants, solar plants, combined cycle plants and microgrids.

I developed skills such as ownership of problems and produce effective and timely solutions and enhanced my oral and written communications skills with the ability to write technical reports and make presentations with ease.

Learned how to deal effectively with clients, vendors and contractors and have had site experience pertaining to QA and commissioning.

Very friendly environment and people are very helpful indeed.

The hardest part of the job is driving from home to my workplace and the most enjoyable part is when I have a challenge and able to solve it as per management expectations.
Pros
friendly environment
Cons
nil
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in short term contract
Project Administrator (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ONOctober 18, 2013
Typical day at work would involve a lot of data entry and running of reports. Whatever the project team required for their live projects I was able to assist with.
Most enjoyable part of the job was the organization duties and working with a smaller team to a common goal.
The hardest part of the job was feeling helpless when something unforeseen would happen during the course of the project that we were unable to predict and we would have to act in the best interest of the client on the fly. Being reactive instead of proactive can cause stress.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
will not work foe them in the future
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 3, 2013
the work wasn't difficult, vary slow pace so the days dragged on.
didn't get much opportunity to further your knowledge.
the management was under qualified and rarely were prepared.
the guys were good to work with vary low stress work environment
job security and loyalty were some of there biggest problems.
Pros
good pay close to home
Cons
bad management made to many mistakes with regards to pay check
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Automation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 7, 2013
Truely a great place to work. Highly recommended. Productive work environment and friendly atmosphere. The "work hard, play hard" mantra makes going into work very enjoyable. The hard work and dedication that is given is really shown through the company's weekly meetings.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyed People
Service Technologist (Former Employee) –  Mississauga ONMay 27, 2013
Very Demanding at times when on 7 24 on call Learned to handle people with problems or customer relations on phone or in-house
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Field Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONApril 14, 2013
Barrier between Management and the employees.not proper work planning.

please contact me for my personal opinion.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
poor job planing
Was this review helpful?Yes15No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a nice place to get EPC experience here.
Electrical & Heat Trace Designer (Current Employee) –  Calgary,ABApril 3, 2013
My major job is doing Cenovus project in our office, I got both offsite Pad and Pipeline electrical design experience in oil & sand field. In addition, I have learnt and ability to handle multiple projects at a same time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first drafting job
Drafter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 25, 2013
got experience in electrical drafting
met interesting people
Pros
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Fast paced working environment
CUSTOMER SERVICE - SPARE PARTS COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONFebruary 18, 2013
I loved working at ABB Inc.! I learned a lot and my day went so fast while at work. We had excellent team and people who were dedicated and hard working.
Only reason I left as I moved to USA.
Pros
excellent benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer in Business
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCFebruary 7, 2013
Ancom was a small company specializing in TEMPEST testing. The company was one of only With the peace dividend in the late 90s, ANCOM eventually had to close its doors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World leader in Power Products
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCFebruary 7, 2013
Global presence with brand recognition having the capability and capacity to delivery solutions across the power spectrum, servicing customers in the utility, oil and gas, minining, and heavy industry

Known for technical leadership - and ability to customize solutions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
REGIONAL TECHNICAL SALES SUPPORT (Former Employee) –  EdmontonJanuary 18, 2013
ABB has a large portfolio of Electrical products that are well engineered, that are benchmarked in the industry.

In most positions your day is autonomous with little management interventiom. Positions generally provide job fulfillment and technical challenges, with a decent corporate work environment. Co-workers provide mutual support to develope business plans
Pros
free coffee, company golf tournament, achievable bonus plan
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun times
Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Syncrude Fort McMurraryOctober 2, 2012
Its a good company to work. They really try and keep you busy as long as they have the work. They are well organized and a fun group of people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,364 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9