ABB Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 73 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABB was a very good company to work for. Skills were reckognized and advancement was awarded.
Liaison for the Western Region/Bid Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 12, 2015
I helped run a Mega Transformer repair facility.
I took all incoming calls and directed them accordingly.
Responsible for all inside sales.
ABB has an extensive network, I met some very good people globally.
ABB gets 5 stars in my book.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Traffic Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ONOctober 6, 2015
I enjoyed my 19 years service with ABB. Very generous company. I missed my co-workers. Fair management. I enjoyed interacting with the clients. I learned so much about i.e. automation, robotics, water treatment facility etc.
Pros
Bonuses, good performance review
Cons
Long commute
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People to work with
EPC Instrumentation Specialist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 6, 2015
Honest and fair company to work for, above average benefits. Managers and Supervisors are easy to talk to and have an open door policy. Employees are treated with the utmost respect.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continuous learning path.
Senior Purchaser-Supply Chain Management (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 28, 2015
Productive and good working place to learn new things, face new challenges every day. Good working environment with flexible hours.
Management is very supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment for young people to develop
project scheduler (Current Employee) –  montrealAugust 31, 2015
Professioal work place for young people to develop, offically english speaking environment and lots of opportunity to go oversea.
Pros
amazing cafetia
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Start
Junior Hardware Automation Design Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 25, 2015
Working at ABB started my career. I learned alot from the people around me. My coworkers helped everyone out with their vast knowledge.
Pros
Diversity
Cons
Lack of Training
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent first foray into the world of Electrical Engineering
ELECTRICAL EIT (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 14, 2015
The people and their respective personalities, skill sets, knowledge and experience was fantastic. Everyone was willing to share and help you learn and improve and I couldn't have asked for more as an entry level engineer.
Pros
Crib, fruit basket
Cons
unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for this company !
Business Development/Sales (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 12, 2015
Be very careful with this company, in particular which business unit
you apply to.
In general, I was incredibly surprised at the complete lack of integrity displayed by management and the company in general. They covered just about every type of management transgression I can think of (lying, bullying, berating, manipulation). At some point you have to think that this behaviour is driven from the top down.

Having said the above, there are some good people that work here so obviously everyones experience is not the same. But again, I am a 20 + year professional who has worked for several big corporations and I have never seen or witnessed the type of behaviour displayed by the management of this company.
Pros
None
Cons
Lack of integrity throughout management
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The right place to work in
Service Contracts Administrator (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ONJuly 26, 2015
Great benefits and Open environment to express yourself
Flexible working from home option
Great team and co-workers
Supportive managers
High investment on training and development
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Buyer / Planner / Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ONJuly 18, 2015
ABB is a great company with many benefits, room for advancement, dealing with many different countries and cultures! Outstanding training and travel opportunities within in the company!
Pros
Advancement opportunites!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally a good company but significant rebuilding in progress
consultant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BCJune 28, 2015
The Enterprise Software group is in the process of rebuilding (integrating with ABB) and economic restructuring. It may take a couple of years for any R&D investment and ABB marketing attention to pay off after several years of erosion. (Both had been neglected for some time).
Pros
Flexible hours. Able to work from home
Cons
Often overtime is required
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Fair place to work
QC Electrical Lead (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, ABApril 1, 2015
They are just like any other company, fair, saftey orientated, team atmosphere, offers benefits, family balance and you dont feel like just a number
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well structured organization
Mechanical engineering intern and part-time worker (Former Employee) –  Saint-Laurent, QCMarch 28, 2015
This company has good management, good facilities and a good work atmosphere. I learned how to work within a multi-disciplinary team, how to follow various projects at the same time and improved my CAD skills.
Pros
Great cafeteria
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace environment
2 year apprentice (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 24, 2015
work outside
pull wires
terminate wires
install panels
terminate panels
upgrades in the plant
follow direction of foreman
work well as a team or individually
enthusiastic, always willing to learn more
work well under pressure to meet deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OIL and Gas Engineering work, Involved in PRE-HAT (Pre – Hardware Acceptance Test, Wellhead Modules
INSTRUMENTATION specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 3, 2015
- Involved in PRE-HAT (Pre – Hardware Acceptance Test) activities for projects of (SAGD) Steam-Assisted Gravity Drainage Project.
- MRB’s reviews, Vendor documents approvals.
- Wellhead modules and Test Separators inspections and functional tests.
- Instrument troubleshooting and Calibrations.
Pros
Good Coordination, Team work attitude, respectful working environment
Cons
Travelling out of town, Short notice for urgent jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have proffesional Electrical Design and drafting experience
Intermediate Electrical Designer & Drafter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 26, 2015
Reviewed P&ID’s of Electrical Drawings & Specifications
Design fiber optic architecture termination diagram under supervisor.
Calculate voltage drops, size conductors, cable trays and lighting requirements
Performed detailed drafting of plant layout drawings (power, grounding, lighting and electric heat tracing) and associated single lines and schematics/wiring diagrams
Preparation of lighting calculation, distribution system for EHT.
Prepare 3D model layout drafting.
Modify As-Built drawings according to Red lines.
Assisted Senior Engineers to review vendor documents.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Local Business Unit Manager (Former Employee) –  Lachine, QCJanuary 26, 2015
Good company with very high work ethics. Some overlap in their different divisions,. Open to reallocate people when necessary. Good & successful addition of the Thomas & Betts group in the Low Voltage division. ABB is very strong in the High voltage arena.
Pros
relaxed atmosphere
Cons
overlap in different business units causing some frustration.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent support with knowledgable team
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Northern Alberta, Northern SaskatchewanJanuary 23, 2015
ABB work ethics are top grade with excellent support it has been a pleasure to be a part of their team
Pros
good communication
Cons
need more weekly conference calls with clients
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Proposal Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ONJanuary 16, 2015
I learned a lot at ABB. For example I learned time-management skills, multi-tasking skills, and technical knowledge the industry. All my co-workers were very nice people and are very good at their jobs.
Pros
flexible hours, free coffee
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Project Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ONJanuary 5, 2015
very satisfying to win projects all over the Western Hemisphere.

I was there for over 5 years and the company took good care of its employees.
Pros
monthly bagle breakfast
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,339 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9