Find companies:
ABB
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
294 reviews

ABB Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt lot in my present company about product
sr service engineer (Current Employee), Vadodara, GJMay 20, 2014
Pros: lunch at reasonable price
Learnt lot about product related to manufacturing and after sale service activities. Had good co-worker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, looked after employers
Receptionist/Administration (Former Employee), Sunderland, Tyne & WearMay 19, 2014
Pros: friendly colleagues, flexible
Kept busy with a variety of work to do. General reception duties, typing documents, preparing quotations and updating time sheets on a daily basis. Moving departments as and when needed i.e holidays maternity leave, sickness. Worked using my own initiative without supervision and managed my own time. Colleagues were friendly and helpful. Loved doing – more... a variety of work and at ABB I was used to doing this. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning but terrible work culture
Training and Communication Manager - REMSC (Current Employee), Bangalore, KAMay 15, 2014
Pros: great learning
Cons: too much protocol, government hierarchy, zero tolerance to women
A great name and a good brand to work under, ABB truly encourages talent. As a company it is good, but unfortunately I can't say the same for the work culture In India. It is a culture which is similar to a government organisation, where everybody addresses people above them as Sir or Madam. They believe that if you need some work done you will need – more... to beg and beg and be at their beck and call, even if it is exactly what they are paid to do. More time is spent on politics and how to antagonize somebody or to get to the top. Most people are two-faced where they change their take on matters when the boss is present. There is zero tolerance for women and the men come from the mind-set that women are best suited for the kitchen and should not move up in their career.

However there are opportunities that come up to showcase your talent and great employee mobility, but it really depends on how well you network and being at the right time at the right place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Racist
MAINTENANCE ENGINEER (Former Employee), Subang jayaMay 14, 2014
Tough place to work,I have learned good engineering practice but in a very tough manner
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yes
site manager (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPMay 10, 2014
Pros: yes
Cons: yes
responssibility, accountibility and challenges.
professionalism.
strong code of conducts
stritly policy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High demand achevment enviroment
Business Unit Manager Rotating Machines Qld (Former Employee), Brisbane, QLDApril 23, 2014
Pros: good group traning & at times a good team sprit
Cons: 24/7 work load due to service industry demand & company expectation
6am to 6:30/7pm days as the demands of the workshop consumed the normal business hours & quite time was needed for strategic planning. The financial requirements of ABB were very concise & expanded the skills required to a new level of accounting & understanding. The hardest part of the job was dismissing unsuitable employees but this was something – more... I only had two or three occasions. Workshop peer pressures normally worked as a means of self regulating of the people that were not suitable or component at the jobs. The environment was very team oriented & if a person did not pull their weight or fit into a team environment they generally would understand this & seek alternate employment. Workshop staff support & achieving the number one spot for our workshop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Market leader, that has deserved its position thanks to the people, that work for that company
Business Development Manager (Former Employee), Москва, RussiaApril 21, 2014
Highly professional environment, hi class technologies, that we are bringing to the market every day.
Customer satisfaction is a key element in our daily work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABB is an international company that has room for growth
Analyst (Former Employee), Lake Mary, FLApril 10, 2014
This company promotes from within and offers global advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empoyee friendly organisation
Information Security & Compliance Manager (Current Employee), Bangalore, KAApril 10, 2014
Pros: employee friendly organisation, good management
Cons: attendance monitoring system
Organization is a very employee friendly organization and has good management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monitring of whole sub station
Site Manager (Current Employee), Faridabad, HRApril 8, 2014
Pros: lunch not free
Cons: eight hours working
to the construction activities, fund collection from customer & work safely at working place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work but poor co-workers
Apprentice Technician (Former Employee), Telford, ENGApril 4, 2014
Pros: lots of travel involveded
Cons: management and co workers were ruthless on how they did things.
A typical day would involve getting a turbo or turbo's from the stores, stripping the turbo down, inspecting every individual part following company requirements, filling out a report, cleaning/repairing and installing new parts as part of the build.

I learned how to multi-task jobs, fill out reports and read complex engineering drawings.

Management – more... was good but can be very ruthless.

Co-workers could not be trusted and would stab you in the back if they were in trouble.

The hardest part of the job would be juggling many different job and getting the right ones done on time.

The most enjoyable part of the job would be going off site and conducting repairs and services on ships and different sites. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity and fun in work
service engineer (Current Employee), Vadodara , gujarat , indiaMarch 31, 2014
lost of learning think which can be from the management of ABB . any one can be understand only when he /she will came to ABB family
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting learning expierience
Winder (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMarch 29, 2014
Attention to details was very important. Many long hours studying the process of winding coils.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vale Oman palletizing plant
Mechanical fitter (Current Employee), omanMarch 21, 2014
• Maintenance of pumps
• Maintenance of compressors
• Maintenance of Agitator
• Maintenance of valves
• Maintenance of conveyors
• Maintenance of balling disc
• Maintenance of rotary kiln
• Maintenance of grinding mill
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment change
Product Manager (Former Employee), Rio de JaneiroMarch 21, 2014
Pros: very well structured company
Cons: salary policy during acquisition of other company.
I could not evaluate in reality the work environment inside ABB. The company for whom I was working before was acquired by ABB. During my experience with APS Technology I was home office based and most of the time visiting clients in Brazil. I continued as home office based in ABB, but few times I was in the main office in Sao Paulo. The atmosphere – more... was very friendly and people seemed to be very focused on their work. I got a huge support from my manager inside ABB Brazil, what gave me a very good impression about my specific sector. As I was far away from the daily routine, I felt sometimes abandoned by other support sectors, but it seems something from a perspective of someone out of the nest. The company never left me in trouble. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning Exp
Audit Manager (Current Employee), Vadodara, GJMarch 13, 2014
• Ensures compliance with established internal control procedures by examining records, reports, operating practices, and documentation.
• Verifies assets and liabilities by comparing items to documentation.
• Completes audit work papers by documenting audit tests and findings.
• Appraises adequacy of internal control systems by completing audit questionnaires.
 – more... Communicates audit findings by preparing a final report; discussing findings with auditees.
• Complies with federal, state, and local security legal requirements by studying existing and new security legislation; enforcing adherence to requirements; advising management on needed actions.
• Prepares special audit and control reports by collecting, analyzing, and summarizing operating information and trends.
• Contributes to team effort by accomplishing related results as needed.
• I was checking physical inventory, GRN Reports, MIS Reports, US & UK GAAP, GRIR Reports. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Power & Productivity for better world
Design Engineer, HV & EHV Substations (AIS & GIS) (Former Employee), Vododara IndiaMarch 11, 2014
Pros: freedom to work
A very good company to start career. Plenty of opportunity to grow, learn and to become a leader.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Purchase Executive (Former Employee), Bangalore, KAMarch 10, 2014
the platform is very nice.
Independent growing opportunity,
more responsibility and also a most enjoyable part
of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very Good Organisation
Commissioning Engineer Process Automation Metals (Former Employee), BangaloreMarch 6, 2014
Pros: free snacks
Cons: more than 12 hours
It is a organisation to learn and work freely.It's good to earn reputation among the top players in industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the advantage of doing the designs is that i get to go on site and liaise with the end user and test my designs in the facotory
electrical design engineer (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPMarch 6, 2014
Cons: i can work from 6 oclock in the morning till 6 oclock in the eveninig
the hard part is when the project manager give me less information about the design and I have to go and do the design by assumptions.

the most enjoyable part is when I go and meet with the customers I get to know and share knowledge with them.

About ABB

ABB is a global leader in power and automation technologies. Based in Zurich, Switzerland, the company employs 150,000 people – Read more