ABB

551 reviews

ABB Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Electrical Designer/Drafter (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 29, 2016
ABB is a very good company to work for.
The management is excellent, the colleagues are friendly.
The schedule is flexible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
electrician (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 18, 2015
Pros: 4 day work week
Cons: Bad spot to get to
ABB was good to work for as far as employees go. The electrical engineering and building design team has their issues, though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative work place and life long lerning experience. Company organized parties are fun filled.
Power Systems Senior Engineer (Former Employee), Burlington, ONDecember 10, 2015
Pros: In-house and external training, and regular reviews of projects, and lessons learn meetings on project completion are eye opener for team members.
Cons: Higher expectations, loss of focus on project management
I have worked hydro, thermal and solar power plant projects with substations.
The power projects of complex nature demands innovative solution. Engineering of the systems, design, layout, procurement, time schedule require team work with regular interface, coordination and attending many types of issues on daily basis.
It is important and a must to assimilate the specifications, contractual scope, owner and consultant expectations in the design, procurement and execution. Not to forget the contract changes for additional cost and time for additional work.
Job stress and multi tasking cooperation results in a project which becomes a mile stone and brings smile to all parties working for the project.
Job in ABB is challenging as well as interesting and helpful for personal growth of technical knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management, Terrible Pay.
QC Inspector / Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 19, 2015
No room for advancement unless you're friends with someone high up. The pay was terrible, they treated their apprentices like garbage, and the working culture was very clique. you never felt secure here, as people who weren't in the "cool" crowd were constantly picked on and belittled. they promoted people with no industrial experience just because they were friends with the construction manager, that made for a lovely time, having someone boss you around and micromanage, that knew absolutely nothing about industrial electrical work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment for young people to develop
project scheduler (Current Employee), montrealAugust 31, 2015
Pros: amazing cafetia
Professioal work place for young people to develop, offically english speaking environment and lots of opportunity to go oversea.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Start
Junior Hardware Automation Design Specialist (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 25, 2015
Pros: Diversity
Cons: Lack of Training
Working at ABB started my career. I learned alot from the people around me. My coworkers helped everyone out with their vast knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for this company !
Business Development/Sales (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 12, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Lack of integrity throughout management
Be very careful with this company, in particular which business unit
you apply to.
In general, I was incredibly surprised at the complete lack of integrity displayed by management and the company in general. They covered just about every type of management transgression I can think of (lying, bullying, berating, manipulation). At some point you have to think that this behaviour is driven from the top down.

Having said the above, there are some good people that work here so obviously everyones experience is not the same. But again, I am a 20 + year professional who has worked for several big corporations and I have never seen or witnessed the type of behaviour displayed by the management of this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Buyer / Planner / Customer Service (Former Employee), Burlington, ONJuly 18, 2015
Pros: Advancement opportunites!
ABB is a great company with many benefits, room for advancement, dealing with many different countries and cultures! Outstanding training and travel opportunities within in the company!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Relay protection and commissioning engineer MV (Former Employee), Czech RepublicNovember 3, 2014
Well organized, good opportunity, best work team. They have opportunity for graduate students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Travel
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee), Burlington ONNovember 1, 2014
If your young and have no family and want to see the world , this is a good place to start.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work
Supply Chain Specialist (Former Employee), Burlington, ONMarch 4, 2014
good leadership and accountable, team player, good coordination
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a good company
Automation Engineer (Current Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 19, 2013
You can find a lot of chance to contact many new technologies there.
You can work at company, and can go to work at site also, it needs versatile skills.
Many projects are challenge, but I like it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with friendly people
Renewable Energy Electrical Engineer (Current Employee), Burlington, ONNovember 20, 2013
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: nil
I gained a good understanding of the workings of hydro plants, solar plants, combined cycle plants and microgrids.

I developed skills such as ownership of problems and produce effective and timely solutions and enhanced my oral and written communications skills with the ability to write technical reports and make presentations with ease.

Learned how to deal effectively with clients, vendors and contractors and have had site experience pertaining to QA and commissioning.

Very friendly environment and people are very helpful indeed.

The hardest part of the job is driving from home to my workplace and the most enjoyable part is when I have a challenge and able to solve it as per management expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Field Service Representative (Former Employee), Brampton, ONApril 14, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: poor job planing
Barrier between Management and the employees.not proper work planning.

please contact me for my personal opinion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
J'ai adoré travailler pour ABB
Représentante service à la clientèle (Former Employee), St Laurent, QCFebruary 5, 2016
L'équipe de travail était très agréable, très facile d'approche.
Les connaissances et contact internes des membre de l'équipe était partager pour aider aux recherches de produit de différentes division.
La collaboration des fournisseurs internes et externes était une pratique courante pour facilité le travail de chacun et ce qui rendait par le fait même une ambiance de travail des plus agréable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company issues
Manager (Former Employee), Montréal, QCJanuary 31, 2016
Units compete against each other.
Most of the time units buy concurrence material at better price for their projects.

It has great benefits in health and retirements plans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
équippement
Ouvrier à la production de transformateur (Former Employee), Varennes, QCNovember 21, 2013
Pros: formation gratuite
Cons: aucune garanti
ABB Varennes est une compagnie équipé de matériaux spécialisés dans son domaine. Comme les appareils de levage ou les tables de travail, la compagnie donne des formations accrues à tous ses employés. J'ai donc suivi une formation sur les ponts-roulants, chariots élévateurs, nacelles, plates-formes élévatrices, machines-outils et sur le travail en hauteur. Je crois que toutes compagnies devraient faire la même chose affin de se protéger et de protéger leurs employés.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Une des meilleures entreprises dans le monde dans la croissance de ses employés
Sr. Project Engineer (Former Employee), St LaurentAugust 29, 2013
Pros: croissance personnel
Cons: la main droite ne sait pas ce qui fait la main gauche
Horaires flexibles
Responsabilité délègue pour travail non pyramidal mais horizontal.

See more ABB reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile
Headquarters
12040 Regency Pkwy.
Cary NC, United States 27518
Revenue
$5bn to $10bn (CAD)
Employees
10,000+
Industry
Links
ABB website