Find companies:
AAR Corp.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
46 reviews

AAR Corp. Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not do it.
Employee (Former Employee), Cadillac, miDecember 2, 2014
Cons: everything.
This place is a joke. If you are not in with the boys you will be out on your butt. Company refuses to compensate based on merit but will compensate for those (many) who sit around and lead the company down the wrong path. Other than a terrible work environment, terrible management and terrible compensation this would be a great place to work. Also – more... H.R leads this company and directs Sr. Management, completely backwards people there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management. Below average pay.
Senior MRO Sales Manager (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 30, 2014
Pros: none.
Poor Supervisors. Very political. Lower than average pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Production Supervisor (Current Employee), Goldsboro, NCOctober 16, 2014
great place to work but defense contract expired and had a mass lay off
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Engineering Intern (Former Employee), Garden City, NYOctober 10, 2014
Overall good atmosphere and good environment to work in. Learned how to manage multiple projects and the fabrication process for machining parts and tools.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful job field to apply mechanical skills.
Structures Mechanic/ Machinist II (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 3, 2014
Pros: company funded events for family and friends
Cons: management
A typical day at work will vary every day, from the possibility of simply painting a project to fabricating whole parts utilized in fixing aircraft. While in the job field i have learned to become a structural mechanic with sheet metal and a machinist capable of precision parts. Co-workers are usually the best to work in a team in this environment. – more... There is always a hard part to any job every day considering all jobs vary in skill level and change daily, but everything is not impossible. The most enjoyable part of my job is allowing myself to further my skills in my field of expertise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and great job experience to gain from emplotment in the world of aviation maintenance.
A&P Aircraft Mechanic (Former Employee), Hot Springs, ARSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: excellent healthcare benifits and generous number of vacation days and sick pay.
Cons: short lunches and breaks, as well as constant unneccessary meddling by upper managment.
Ive learned a lot of valuable information and had many hours of critical hands on experience with many systems and components at AAR Corp, which I hope will springboard me to my next job. The current management at AAR in Hot Springs however is weak and shaky at best, but with a little encouragement and a push toward intruding less into the daily work – more... environment that floor mechanics share I believe that this could all be turned around for good.
The fellow employees that I have had the privilidge to work side by side with really made it an enjoyable experience for me. They are a great bunch of hard working guys that never let the difficulties of a job defeat their ability to overcome these obstacles and even despite the lack of faith in a solid management team they maintain a high level of morale that goes without saying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically demanding
CNC Operator (Current Employee), Goldsboro, NCSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: hours that are easy for a parent.
Cons: mondane
I had been with this company for approximately 4 1/2 years and they have messed up my pay on three different occasions. Over the past two months they have neglected to pay me on two different occasions for work I had completed. Instead of making right there on the spot they made me wait until the next pay period which caused me to fall into higher tax – more... brackets which took more money out of my pocket. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QC Inspector - Miami
QC Inspector (Former Employee), MiamiAugust 18, 2014
Cons: you put your license on the line every day!
Tough place to work. Low pay considering you need to be qualifed on every type of large commercial aircraft and every different company GMM. Very few A and Ps so the Inspector is working with mostly unqualified people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced aviation program deployment to contracters serving in Afghanistan
Travel Coordinator (Former Employee), Palm Bay, FLAugust 12, 2014
Pros: self gratification for serving our employees
Cons: employees who liked to complain about everything instead of making their job a success
As a Program Coordinator, my responsibilites were to maintain and order new passports, CAT cards for employees to have access on base for eating,etc in Afghanistan. There were fixed wing as well as rotor wing pilots, logistics clerks, flight ops and mechanics who required the proper paperwork for deployment, as well as purchasing the international tickets – more... along with charter flights after arriving in Dubai for their rotation. I also was responsible for purchasing all tacticle clothing as well as ensuring the clothing had proper logo's to seperate AAR from other contractors working in Afghan. My co-workers were easy to work with as the job requirements were stressful at times. We worked as a team to assist each other during times when airline tickets needed to be changed. This was frequent.The hardest part of my job was attempting to maintain the work that was necessary to deploy our employees, as well as order and maintain all tactical gear for over 500 employees. I loved the challenge. It was a great job. I left the company in Nov of 2012 to be a full time care giver for my Mother who had been diagnosed with Alzheimer's or I would have remained with AAR. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company, great good old boys club!
Sheet Metal Mechanic (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 25, 2014
Pros: great city and a few good leads.
Cons: terrible management, good old boy club.
This company does not have it act together. Most of the supervisors are yes men. Managers will hire far too many people and the budgets are blown and people are laid off. Second shift would always take the brunt of the call offs. Day crew is mostly the good old boys in the sheet metal crew. No one above lead would have your back. I sent emails to the – more... head corporate office and to the managers at the Indianapolis hanger about the extremely blown work cards and how this can't continue. One month later call offs four out of five nights. Another month later massive layoffs. I tell the manager in my hanager that escorted me out that I lost my job because of their incompetence and I get mark in my file that I have a bad attitude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
beware a&p licensed mechanics
aircraft mechanic (Former Employee), Indianapolis inJune 2, 2014
Pros: nice facility
Cons: cut corners, no integrity
Started aar as a contractor. All was great for a while then new d.o.m. took over. You could see things go downhill (lost contracts, lay offs etc.). Last straw was when sheetmetal crew was called into office and told to blend corrosion and sign off in limits so plane wont go late. Luckily I was on another job at the time. Cutting corners and pencil whipping – more... are commonplace at aar. Please beware. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much Diversity. True Good ole boys system there.
Aircraft Mechanic (Current Employee), Hot Springs, ARMay 25, 2014
Pros: no pros at all
Cons: leads are lazy and clueless.
typical day at work starts with entering in the main hanger and navigating thru the hoard of day workers standing around the time clock waiting to clock out while the hanger floor is engulfed with debris and trash.

i learned how to survive inside a good ole boy system.

no comment on management.

Co- workers were ok, kinda like a union but not a union.

no – more... hard part of the job, you just stay on the same thing for however long you are there.

The christmas and thanksgivig parties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place
AIRCRAFT MAINTENANCE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), MiamiApril 17, 2014
There is much opportunity to learn while working there, but there is also a great deal of frustration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very oppressive environment
Engineering Services Manager (Current Employee), Goldsboro, NCMarch 19, 2014
Pros: the people.
Cons: lack of culture.
A typical day at this company has not been about the work but about who would be leaving next. I have learned that the culture within a company is the most important thing that should be fostered and have taken that for granted after many years of working at companies who worked hard to show they cared about their employees. Upper management here have – more... been very oppressive. There is no opportunity for teleworking, but consultants are hired and they all work from home; their is no trust of the employees that they have hired; policies are written when they are needed; it is a very backwards environment. This has been the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable part have been my co-workers. Everyone wants to do the right thing, but get frustrated trying because of the lack of support from management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JOB CULTURE NEEDS WORK
AVIONICS TECHNICIAN/INSTALLER (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 6, 2014
Work day was unperdictable unknown where you would be working each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place I have ever worked!
S-61 Captain (Former Employee), AfghanistanMarch 3, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: unsafe, horrible management, no hiring screening, disorganized
I worked for AAR for 8 months. I started in January 2011, and my employment stopped in August. Right off, my initial impression of AAR was very poorly run operations. During training, things were very disorganized, with our instructors often very disgruntled themselves. Often we did not even know what would be going on the next day, but less have some – more... sort of syllabus. After finishing my training in February, my pay suddenly stopped after getting into Afghanistan. I went from middle of February till middle of April before I received my next paycheck, and every time I raised a issue or complaint, I was given a generic answer about someone looking into it from the stateside office. It was not until I emailed the CEO of the flight branch before I finally got paid, and they refused to pay me back pay for that time I went without. Their hiring process was horrible. I thought I was going to be working and flying with the world's best pilots, and it turned out many times I was with the world's rejects. I don't think I am any top gun, but I was surrounded by guys who had not only been SIC for a year or more, but were totally clueless to flying in general. The company did not screen anyone. One guy, who was our assistant site manager, only got the position because he BS's with the country manager who was also clueless. Come to find out, our assistant site manager had been fired from his last job flying EMS for being drunk on the job, and he had been claiming to be a retired full bird from the Marine Corps, only to find out he had been let go as a 1LT because of issues. And he was not the only person with issues. There was so many layers to management that no one knew what was going on, both in country and state side in Melbourne, FL. I could go on for much longer, and if you would like to know, I can put you in contact with ever so many mechanics, crew chiefs, and pilots that all left for the same reasons. If you value your sanity and safety, do not work for AAR Airlift! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
will never work for them again
AAvionics technician (Former Employee), Indianapolis IndianaMarch 3, 2014
Pros: nice location
Cons: horrible management
Worked for aar in Oklahoma and they laid me off after a very short time. I gave them another shot in Indianapolis and the same thing happened. They left my family and myself with little options. Leads were awful and Never helped. They treated people like children and we're very disrespectful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly a miserable eperience
Sheet Metal Mechanic (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: nice clean modern facility
Cons: everything else...i would rather be living in a box on the street
I worked here in 2013 and was treated basically like a dog....or worse...the supervisor in my department wouldnt even talk to me....if I had a question or problem my lead man would not get off of Facebook to answer my questions. Everyday at this place was a living hell for me....the turnover is terrible..and if you are contractor they barely speak to – more... you.....they have their clients not even knowing what really goes on out there.....their direct hire employees with many years of experience make so little....I feel sorry for them.....if you go to work here after reading this it is your fault....you have been warned.....lol – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, lots of advancement opportunities.
Lead A&P Mechanic (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: plenty of advancement opportunities.
Cons: off shift cafeteria sometimes unavailable.
AAR has many locations and opportunities for individual advancement. I enjoyed working here because of the diverse work details, always a new opportunity and plenty of challenges daily. Plenty of opportunity to enhance individual work skills in a team environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Alternate Lead/A&P Mechanic (Former Employee), Okc., Ok.January 26, 2014
A diverse work environment between active duty, civil service, and contractors. Equal opportunity company. Management is thorough in the training process and willing to assist with the needs of the employees. Co-workers maintain a positive outlook and care about achieving a high rank in production. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to – more... go to work everyday with a group of people that cared about the aviation just as much as I do. – less

1 2 3

About AAR Corp.

AAR CORP. (AAR) is a diversified provider of products and services to the worldwide aviation and defense industries. The Company – Read more

AAR Corp. Photos