AECOM Employee Reviews

Found 154 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, learning environment
Trades Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 April 2015
This company provided a lot of work experience in my field. Gained valuable business and recruitment knowledge for my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
URS is a great company to work for! Everyone was great
Safety Advisor (Current Employee) –  Carmon Creek Project27 March 2015
URS is a great company to work for with great people. I would have stayed with the company however everyone was laid off due to the recession.
Pros
Great People
Cons
Got laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent group
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Peace River, AB16 March 2015
Not very often i say this, but URS has a great crew from top to bottom here. Safety guys are fantastic and the upper management actually listens to the worker
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Regional Recruitment Lead (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 March 2015
Awesome company to work with. Great work life balance, great people and management.

Would definitely recommend to others.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  grande prairie9 March 2015
AECOM is a good place to work
- pretty flexible and family orientated
Safety is extremely important to the company

my co workers are great and are like family..

we have managed to keep busy with the slow times in the oil field
Pros
family/work balance
Cons
a bit isolated
Was this review helpful?Yes6No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
apprentice electrician (Former Employee) –  Joffre2 March 2015
Good place to work, good hours. Enjoyed my time there. Cut backs came along and low man on the totem pole got the axe first. Would definitely go back if the opportunity arose.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good guys to work with
driver (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB25 February 2015
Decent place to work. Great guys to work with. No movement to move up into supervisor roles etc. Guaranteed hours and flights into camp
Pros
hours guaranteed
Cons
no movement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and work safely
Pipe Fitter (Former Employee) –  Fort sasketchewan18 February 2015
I love doing my job, I always make it a point that i enjoy doing it and doing it in a safe manner not just for me, but for the other workers around me as well.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many favorites,special privilages
Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Firebag AB8 February 2015
To many friends hiring friends,or to many relatives of the management being hired,if your friends with management or related in some way you pretty much have it made and you job is safe.if your not friends with them outside of work or related in some way.good luck on keeping your job,you will be the first they choose to let go.
Pros
Camp work
Cons
To much friends and family, special treatment.
Was this review helpful?Yes25NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Warehouse Technician/Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB26 January 2015
URS was a decent company. The pay was good. The crew i was with was very in-experienced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Applying Best Practices of American Association of Cost Engineers (AACE) and Project Management Institute (PMI).
PLANNING & SCHEDULING ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 January 2015
Great place for Professional Development
Skills Improvement
Application of Earned Value Management System and Critical Path Method (CPM)
Pros
Organization supports PD
Cons
Extra time and weekend work sometime
Was this review helpful?Yes7No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
ACCOUNTING MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 November 2014
OK, progressive, leveraging technology to break geography barriers.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent poeple , good shifts up north 10 and 4 in winter and 9 and 5 in summer
Welder/Welders helper (Former Employee) –  pelican lake6 November 2014
good play , rate of pay was a little low and it was pulling teeth to get a review for a raise . everything was supplied tho and they treated us pretty good. worked in all kinds of weather tho and didn't shut down at all, rain ,snow, minus 40 it didn't matter.
Pros
paid lunches and jump hours when weather was no good
Cons
rate of pay and advancment, didnt want to pay for schooling and or tickets
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, efficient and safe place to work with a fitness room
Industrial Engineer and Lead Project Quality Rep (Current Employee) –  Calgary Alberta31 October 2014
A typical day at work comprises of a few hours of individual working and in personal office and a subtle blend of a interaction form colleagues and at time mediate supervisor when there is need to brainstorm over an issue. I learned so much from my immediate supervisor whose leadership skill is highly desirous.My co-workers are smart and hard working people who, i believe their work ethics has also rob off on me.

The hardest part of my job is whenever I am assigned a non billable work to do.Whenever this happens, I would have to put in more hours than I should in order to meet up budgetary expectations.

Most enjoyable part of the job is the opportunity to meet and work with different clients and subcontractors from time to time. There is also the benefit of getting involved with colleagues in games and other activities outside of the work place.
Pros
socialisation
Was this review helpful?Yes17No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
Industrial Electrician (Current Employee) –  kinosis20 October 2014
not bad at all
learned a lot
fun at work
management is a little sucks
co-workers are very nice
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Facility and Pipeline experience
Senior Estimator- Pipelines (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park16 October 2014
Although currently in Estimating I have construction experience in both Facility and Pipeline.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall not a great experience
Superintendent Trainee (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie AB8 October 2014
The management team is lacking in managing its' talent and meeting the delieverables that were set out prior to the hiring process. Coworkers were great to work with but did not make up for the overall experience.
Pros
coworkers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Finance (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON6 October 2014
This organization has taught me a lot about the industry as well as the overall day to day activities that make such a large company tick.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a god job to be on with URS
Apprentice Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Anzac, AB5 October 2014
Hydro Testing
Installing Pipe
Bolt Up/Torqueing
WorkFace Planning
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and not competent
structural engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 September 2014
poor management and not competent. Not able to win jobs for very long time. Lots of ppl left.
Pros
good benefit
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes22NoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,850 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5