A Helping Hand Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MD30 June 2016
It was very humbling to work with people struggling with the disease of addiction. The clients were the best and work hard to maintain sobriety
Pros
Early hours
Cons
only offer part- time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Mental Health Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Daytona Beach, FL29 June 2016
The staff there is great, honest to a fault, with a lot of integrity. The CEO is great, if there is a weakness, it is the Qualified Mental Health Supervisor who plays favorites, and if she gets tired of helping you she just informs management that "I can't deal with this person," and management to their credit picks up her slack. She has done this to at least 8 people I know of.
Pros
staff, pay, schedule, organizational climate
Cons
excess paperwork which must be re-done 10 x per submission
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxed job
Child Care Provider (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VA21 April 2016
Great managements and families. I get to pick my hours which really helps me out with my school schedule. Families are always really nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no longer in business
Sr full charge bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CA3 March 2016
I gained knowledge about the accounting needs of many types of business'

i.e. non profit, construction, film, recording studios, artists to name a few
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The clients and staff are good to work with.
Addiction Counselor-Internship (Former Employee) –  Woodlawn, MD3 February 2016
A typical day was went by quickly. I learned very much about human behavior and addiction from the clients. Most of the co-workers were kind and very informative to me. Leading the group can be very difficult at times, but it can also be very enjoyable.
Pros
Did not work on weekends.
Cons
Disorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Housekeeping
Housekeeping Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Parker, CO6 January 2016
Is having up to 4 units a day or more getting these units done in time for next tenant move in. I have the best employees around.
Pros
FREE LUNCH
Cons
NOT GETTING 40 HOUS IN A WORK WEEK
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job heping clients with every day house hold needs
Owner (Current Employee) –  Green Bay, WI6 July 2015
Helped clients with cleaning, laundry, organizing, and errands. I would do laundry as I cleaned and organized rooms when needed. I also ran errands for them and took their children to Dr. appointments and did their grocery shopping.
Pros
Open Schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Various Problems with employee compensation and scheduling
Targeted Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Daytona Beach FL23 October 2014
supervisors are over worked and the staff suffers for it. In house billing leads to frequent compensation problems that are seldom resolved. would not recommend
Pros
flexible schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
contract work
Licensed Therapist (Current Employee) –  Daytona Beach, FL3 January 2014
hardest part of the job is all the insurance requirements and endless paperwork. most enjoyable working with families and children. Co workers and management very nice. Also flexible work schedule is a plus
Pros
flexibility
Cons
contract work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding as in helping people
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TN29 October 2013
The most rewarding part of my job is assisting the elderly and disabled in going about their daily lives,
Pros
Working with people
Cons
No breaks, no vacation or holiday pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a simple job where I aid and assist others
Companion (Current Employee) –  Durham, NC25 October 2013
I aid, assist, keep company with, and transport elderly and/or disabled persons, and safely drive clients by means of both my vehicle and theirs to appointments, errands and daily routines.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Visiting Nurse/Home Health Aide (Current Employee) –  Fort Lee, NJ9 July 2013
The company offers very flexible hours and the manager is very understanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its something that I manage
Light housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Wiggins, MS22 April 2013
this is a company that I started after being layed of my previous job.I enjoy it alot but business is slow and I am looking for a job in my current degree field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience working with the elderly and disabled
Client Care Coordinator/ Instructor (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV13 December 2012
I learned alot about how the social services system works. I was a voice for the ones who were too scared to speak up. I was able to provide safe, trustable people to care for the elderly and disabled.
Pros
constant mandatory overtime, helping people get the help that they so desperately needed
Cons
no family time, used my own car
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent contractor for Mental Health clients.
Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA25 October 2012
As a provider I would saw ongoing clients and new clients weekly. I learned the most from my clients helping me become a better provider. Management was great in providing support and encouragement, but lacked in benefits and compensation. Each provider worked independently, thus had minimum contact with each other, except for occasional meetings and trainings. Most difficult part of the job was not having collaboration with other providers. The best part of the job was working with clients and their families.
Pros
providing treatment/therapy for clients.
Cons
little collaberation with other providers, only compensation if clients showed for their appointments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Helping Hand
Personal Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV8 April 2012
A Typical day as being a Helping Hand employee, was to assist the elderly and/or disabled with daily errands such as cleaning, grooming/bathing, and caring for the clients. Working at A Helping Hand allowed me to care for people who weren't able to take care of themselves and was very rewarding.
Pros
rewarding, teaches you patience
Cons
no health benefits, no set hours per week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
2.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6