Find companies:
A & W
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

A & W Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok.
Cook and Cashier (Former Employee), Halifax, NSJanuary 13, 2014
Employees were great but management was not. Cared more about making sales than caring about customers or employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Light-hearted yet productive work environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Coquitlam, BCDecember 19, 2013
Pros: amazing coworkers
Cons: unconventional hours
A typical day of work at A & W consisted of a very productive work day with many necessary tasks. Primarily I took orders, allowing me some great customer service interaction, handled cash, provided customers with their orders, and kept the establishment clean. While there was many tasks to be accomplished, all of the coworkers made it a great and fun – more... place to work. The most enjoyable part of the job was the human interaction, especially with the amount of regulars the store receive. However the hardest part of the job was coping with such unconventional hours which was constantly changing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work experience
Cook (Former Employee), Prince George, BCJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: free drinks
Cons: sometime working a rush alone
it was fun working there never a dull moment. I always busy,You always had to be fast and keep your eye on what you were doing when making fries hamburger and onion rings and salads and hotdogs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor @ A&W on 5th in Prince George, BC.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Prince George, BCNovember 2, 2012
Pros: feeling part of a cohesive effective team.
Cons: rumours and gossip.
Arrive with a review from outgoing supervisor, discussion with management, and see to the requirements of the day. Balancing receiving orders with pre-planning for order rushes. Tasking breaks and knowing where every staff member is as required. Being willing to take on the responsibility of any position in the restaurant. Aligning time with Cash handling – more... and accountability. See to a firm understanding of what needs done, what has to be done, and keep communication is constant. Grateful for each shift success and convey happiness to each employee, respectively.

I learned to better manage my time.

Management is excellent, and appreciative of the time they gave me.

Co-workers were like a group of high school students, clique/groups formed and as a supervisor you have to work within tension.

The hardest part was to be impartial and show authority.

The most enjoyable part of my job was becoming accepted and professional through my employment with Kolider Restaurants Limited. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job someone would have if they needed the money
Kitchen employee (Former Employee), St. John's, NLOctober 21, 2012
Cons: long hours, bad management, workers were treated as workers not people
co workers were good but management needed improvement , dirty working conditions, pay would never go above min.wage
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
line cook (Former Employee), williams lakeOctober 2, 2012
Clean, stock, and restock workstations.
Operate large-volume cooking equipment such as grills, deep-fat fryers.
Maintain sanitation, health, and safety standards in work areas.
Measure ingredients required for specific food items being prepared.
Cook the exact number of items ordered by each customer, working on several different orders simultaneously.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A&W
Cashier (Former Employee), Chatham-Kent, ONOctober 1, 2012
its a alright place to be.. it was a good way to meet people and learn about a fast pace environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Tasks
Supervisor (Former Employee), St. John's, NLSeptember 12, 2012
• Senior Supervisor/Cashier
• Supervised other staff members
• Money handling
• Customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Food Counter Attendant (Current Employee), Spruce Grove, ABSeptember 11, 2012
Pros: 40% discount for employee meal
Cons: long hours
productive and fun workplace and just 5minutes walk from our town house
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Cashier (Former Employee), Yorkton, SKAugust 13, 2012
Pros: great work space, great people
A&W was a great place to work at, i loved it, but i had to move so i couldnt stay there any longer, i learn how to work under pressure, and deal with money more easy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Charlottetown, PEAugust 12, 2012
Wonderful people/company to work for. Good hours and pay is good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very wonderful place to have worked at
Cashier (Former Employee), Prince Feorge BCJuly 26, 2012
Pros: the customer
Cons: waking up for the early shift
Can be a very fast paced place during sertian hours. the staff and management were wonderful while I worked there. the hardest part of the job, was waking up to go there to open, otherwise, I enjoyed everything about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun at the start, than I started not liking it
Cook & Cashier (Former Employee), Quispamsis, NBJuly 18, 2012
Pros: good people to work with, good food
Cons: hours started being hard to come by. long hour shifts were not an option
Typical day at work was short, I learned a lot about the different menu items. Management was great, except for the hours. Co-workers were all easy to work with. Hardest part of my job was going in for 3 hour shifts. The most enjoyable part of the job was having music to work to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job, got a lot of expirence through them.
Cashier (Former Employee), Dryden, ONMay 11, 2012
Very hot, all the time. I learned how to work with money and work as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job!
Carhop (Former Employee), Greensburg-INNovember 4, 2013
Made tips. Fantastic customer service experience. Went to school with most of the staff. Management was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A&W
Waitress (Former Employee), Mason, OHOctober 9, 2013
Managment was horrible. They were not flexable, yelled at employees in front of customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Working Experience
Cook (Former Employee), Hanford, CASeptember 9, 2013
I was able to work and gain some work ethics at such a young age from food prep to work service. I was able to learn and apply my work ethics to what needed to be done in order to get the job done. It was a well maintained working environment. I enjoyed the time spent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for high school
Cashier/Customer Service/Cook (Current Employee), Grandville, MIJune 18, 2013
Pros: clean, good food
Cons: attitudes, gossip
I would say that it is a good first job. No real chance for raises or promotions. Alot of bad attitudes and talking about people behind their backs by co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A&W
Fast Food Worker (Former Employee), Leavenworth, KSJune 5, 2013
Pros: a&w was a great place to work
Cons: long john silvers should of been better
Work at a&w and Long John silvers before they combined them in Leavenworth I worked at A&W first and management was great. Working at Long John silvers Management was stilling and I didn't want any part of it so I had Quit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Minong, WIMarch 2, 2013
Pros: half off food
Cons: no benefits
flippin burgers and frying fries
half off food
fast paced
ice cream is good

About A & W

W.W. Grainger, Inc. (Grainger) distributes facilities maintenance products, and provides services and related information used – Read more