Find companies:
A & W
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

A & W Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love working nice place
Food safety supervisor (Current Employee), Davidson skJune 1, 2015
Pros: yup
Cons: 55
love work anywhere but this place is good and enjoying workplace CEO is friendly and management is easygoing ,my oll co-worker is like my family member and when we Mack nice food for customer and he/she give nice compliment this is enjoyable part that's it thnxxx
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced workplace
Front Counter Customer Service Attendant (Former Employee), Brandon, MBMay 15, 2015
Pros: fast paced, always busy good hours
-Drive Thru interaction with customers
-Providing Annual workplace promotions
- Assembling customers orders
- Handling and making change for the customers
- Washroom checks
- Keeping areas clean
- Stocking merchandise
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee), Halifax, NSMay 7, 2015
Pros: Discounted meals
Cons: Long hours
It depended on who you were to work with. Some managers would help and others just didn't care as to if anyone did their jobs. They would be rude to us and also sometimes to customers. They would make remarks that would make me uncomfortable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and positive atmosphere
Cashier (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBMay 2, 2015
Pros: Amazing co-workers, Decent amount of shifts, Learnt alot, Customer service skills, Very flexible
Cons: 30 minute break, Not so nice customers
A&W was my first "real" job, having to deal with customers and using a cash register it all scared me a little bit at first but i have learned so many valuable things from working there the last 9 months. Its taught me a lot about having patients with others especially when customers aren't always the nicest people. Its taught me how important listening is, one mistake and you've messed up someones order or if someone has an allergy we have to immediatly inform the cooks and make sure the guests food is properly handled. Also having to deal with situations that require problem solving on the spot. I'm really fortunate that my manager and co-workers are such genuinely nice people they defiantly make the days go by faster and are very helpful when I'm uncertain about something. They've made my first experiance in the work force a very good one. Having a positive mindset gets you very far and makes the day easier for not only yourself but your co-workers and the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good customer service.
Cashier (Former Employee), Carleton Place, ONApril 16, 2015
Pros: Free drinks.
I already wrote a review, but just incase you didn't get to see it ( and this site is making me write it twice.) It is a lovely restaurant with awesome managers! I loved working there!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place with great people
Front Level Representative (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCFebruary 5, 2015
The most enjoyable part of the job is its pace. Customers expect quick service. The effort from our side has never let us down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment, multiple tasks at the same time
Customer Service (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONJanuary 31, 2015
I learned time management there. Co-workers are very nice and hardworking. I like attending customers and time goes very fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You always had something to do
Cashier (Former Employee), Prince George, BCDecember 30, 2014
Pros: free beverages
Cons: poor managment
The job had many long hours, sometimes without breaks. Frequently, i was left alone to manage two tills at a time. They call it fast food for a reason; I never stopped moving. My co-workers were amazing, however, the management wasn't that great. Supervisors would take adventage of there privallages to the max. The only part i actually enjoyed about this job, was that I was able to befriend quit a lot of people, as well as learn to work in a fast paced enviorment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A &W
A & W (Former Employee), Surrey, BCDecember 12, 2014
cooking , cashier
learned how to interact with costumers
working A &W was good i enjoyed working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun loving Workplace
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee), Kemptville, ONNovember 22, 2014
Pros: positive enviroment, enjoyable workplace, simple jobs, loyal customers
Cons: poorly managed at the time, people thought more about money then business
Always Enjoyable to work there and had all the equipment Needed to do my job, It was an enjoyable workplace people just had to keep there Personal Life out of the job when they walked in and focus on the job at hand.

Customers with Interesting Story's would tell me about their experiences while visiting A & W in the past it was a great way of passing the time and staying happy while in the workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first real job
Cashier (Former Employee), edmonton abOctober 29, 2014
Pros: first job
Cons: getting chunky
learned how to train staff take care of bank drops as well as meet new people!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at very friendly
Kitchen Staff (Current Employee), Napanee OntarioJuly 7, 2014
Pros: half off on food
Cons: short hours
ive learned alot of new things always fun walking into work knowing things are done. Hardest part of the job is keeping up its a task but it can be done. Typical day at work is same routine which is fun and enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its really awesome job
Food Counter Attendant (Current Employee), albertaMay 1, 2014
Pros: free accomodation
It's really nice place to work this company I've learned a lot a different cultures for different peoples. I really enjoy in every seconds with my co-workers.
most enjoyable part of the job. seriously the best part of my job is without a doubt the people that I work with, everyone is always ready to help and encourage one another. that has definitely helped me a more confident person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people everyday and fun atmosphere
Caissière (Former Employee), Rockland, ONMarch 24, 2014
Pros: fun co-workers
Cons: late hours
Always fun to go to work. The hours are great. The co-workers are extremely fun to work with. I learned a lot on the computer at that job. Became really easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok.
Cook and Cashier (Former Employee), Halifax, NSJanuary 13, 2014
Employees were great but management was not. Cared more about making sales than caring about customers or employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Light-hearted yet productive work environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Coquitlam, BCDecember 19, 2013
Pros: amazing coworkers
Cons: unconventional hours
A typical day of work at A & W consisted of a very productive work day with many necessary tasks. Primarily I took orders, allowing me some great customer service interaction, handled cash, provided customers with their orders, and kept the establishment clean. While there was many tasks to be accomplished, all of the coworkers made it a great and fun place to work. The most enjoyable part of the job was the human interaction, especially with the amount of regulars the store receive. However the hardest part of the job was coping with such unconventional hours which was constantly changing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work experience
Cook (Former Employee), Prince George, BCJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: free drinks
Cons: sometime working a rush alone
it was fun working there never a dull moment. I always busy,You always had to be fast and keep your eye on what you were doing when making fries hamburger and onion rings and salads and hotdogs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor @ A&W on 5th in Prince George, BC.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Prince George, BCNovember 2, 2012
Pros: feeling part of a cohesive effective team.
Cons: rumours and gossip.
Arrive with a review from outgoing supervisor, discussion with management, and see to the requirements of the day. Balancing receiving orders with pre-planning for order rushes. Tasking breaks and knowing where every staff member is as required. Being willing to take on the responsibility of any position in the restaurant. Aligning time with Cash handling and accountability. See to a firm understanding of what needs done, what has to be done, and keep communication is constant. Grateful for each shift success and convey happiness to each employee, respectively.

I learned to better manage my time.

Management is excellent, and appreciative of the time they gave me.

Co-workers were like a group of high school students, clique/groups formed and as a supervisor you have to work within tension.

The hardest part was to be impartial and show authority.

The most enjoyable part of my job was becoming accepted and professional through my employment with Kolider Restaurants Limited.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job someone would have if they needed the money
Kitchen employee (Former Employee), St. John's, NLOctober 21, 2012
Cons: long hours, bad management, workers were treated as workers not people
co workers were good but management needed improvement , dirty working conditions, pay would never go above min.wage
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
line cook (Former Employee), williams lakeOctober 2, 2012
Clean, stock, and restock workstations.
Operate large-volume cooking equipment such as grills, deep-fat fryers.
Maintain sanitation, health, and safety standards in work areas.
Measure ingredients required for specific food items being prepared.
Cook the exact number of items ordered by each customer, working on several different orders simultaneously.

About A & W

About W.A.C. Lighting: W.A.C. Lighting has developed a stellar reputation for a high quality product line backed by an extraordinary – Read more