Find companies:
A&W
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
405 reviews

A&W Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generic minimum wage job, no room for moving up.
Cook (Current Employee), Coquitlam, BCApril 30, 2015
work is lively as employees always have fun working together, but it is at the cost of productivity. Most employees take large shortcuts and teach other employees to do so as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff were fun and helpful when present.
Cashier (Former Employee), Thompson, MBApril 30, 2015
Pros: Great discount on meals
Cons: Late weekends
I got along in my environment and staff always seemed to enjoy my presence so I felt very welcome coming into work. The customers always seemed respectful as ever and the overall environment was always – more... calm. It helped me become more accustomed to such conditions like being in company's presence and always being respectful. Managers were always influencial to be a happy worker and really helped unify staff. All co-workers were great help and can show the ropes clearly. The hardest part of the job was always finding something to do. When the store was quiet there were always things to do in the back. Not always in the front. Which meant walking back and forth often for me. Overall coming into work everyday and being known as someone as a part of the crew was the most enjoyable thing I looked at. The staff really made me feel like I fit in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 29, 2015
It was good experience working in a&w and co-workers were helpful. My confidence level improved and i also know how to handle customers .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard but fun
Cashier/Customer service/supervisor (Former Employee), mississaugaApril 29, 2015
not a easy job, was fun tho, do miss it. but need bigger and better things............................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
CASHIER (Former Employee), edmontonApril 29, 2015
worked there for long time. learneed alot from this company about customer service. friendly co workers. loved management very helpfull
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, terrific employees.
Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee), Guelph, ONApril 29, 2015
The best thing about working at A&W was the employees. Everyone treated each other like a family and worked together very well. Everyone knew the job they had and completed it successfully each day. A – more... typical day at work would be alternating between the counter to the food shoot (Packing orders/Serving orders), to working at drive-thru. Handling cash, packing orders and taking orders is usually what a shift would consist of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to start for students especially!
Kitchen Staff (Current Employee), Port Coquitlam, BCApril 27, 2015
a typical day at work is most importantly prepping food for expecting customers, ive learned how to create a more enjoyable work climate. management was great, they are very flexible with your personal – more... schedule. co-workers are amazing and make work more enjoyable. the hardest part of the job is during busy rushes, you have to stay focused to to ensure the customers receive their food fast and ready. the most enjoyable part of the job is seeing customers satisfaction with our service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Cashier (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 23, 2015
Pros: sometimes free food
Cons: Long hours
A typical day would be to serve customers, clean up the dining area, and prepare the food.
I learned how to handle cash in a cashier position, how to cook certain meals, how to treat customers etc.
Management – more... was really well. It was easy to communicate with them and negotiate work hours.
Co-workers were fun to be around.
The hardest part of the job is to handle multiple responsibilities at once due to the lack of staff sometimes.
The most enjoyable part was cooking the food. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Cashier (Current Employee), point claire qcApril 21, 2015
hard to motivate yourself to go to work.Some employees are fun to work with others not so much.hardest part of the job is keeping up with all the orders and its very hard to communicate with the coks in the back
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice coworkers
Cook (Former Employee), ScarboroughApril 20, 2015
Pros: 50% off a meal during your shift
Cons: Strict close minded managers
When you get hired at A&W, you are made to do these online NET training modules, which are very intensive and informative. There is about 28 of them and each one takes between 15-25 minutes. At the end – more... of each module you take a quiz and if you don't get 100% you have to do it again. In total the modules take about 5.5-6 hours. You are told that you get paid for 3 hours of the modules (even though it takes a couple hours more). My first day I was scheduled for 3 hours in which I spent 1 hour signing papers and doing more quizzes. Then I was put on the fry station. The most frustrating thing about working at A&W is they have beepers for everything, so you are constantly hearing loud and annoying beeping. Most procedures you learn doing the modules are followed in the store, some not. The management is very strict and not very open minded (at least at the Scarborough town centre). Been working in kitchens (fast food, pubs and gormet lounges) for over 3 years and got scolded for not using the beeper/timer when making French fries (I think I know by now when friench fries are cooked). You get 50% off of 1 meal and you are not allowed to take it home, you have to eat it during your shift time/break. You can't drink more than a tiny cone cup of water or pop at once. I was told that bringing a bottle of water into the kitchen is looked down upon and to leave it at the back or hide it in the corner when the manager is there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
here it is
Supervisor/Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Kamloops, BCApril 19, 2015
Depends on what store you work at. the first store i worked at was amazing, we all bonded, we were like a family. yea, there were a few days where i hated the thought of going to work but when i got there, – more... it was never a regret.

now, today. well, the store i am at now, something i am not use to. i guess i just have to adjust to not being the one to call the shots any more.

anyhow, a&w is a good place to work. they have been good to me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was young and loved the job
Cook (Former Employee), Saint John, NBApril 17, 2015
Pros: free lunches
Cons: no cons
very busy day...start breakfast getting everything ready and cooking as per order...switching over to lunch cooking orders as per order...learned to work well with others and at a fast pace...management was great...co-workers were very good to work with(had lots of laughs) no hard parts in this job...very relaxed atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace, very inconvenient work hours
Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 13, 2015
Pros: half off meals
Cons: really really bad work shift
I would regularly be placed cashier from the hours of 11pm to 4 am. Very inconvenient for commute and not safe seeing I was the only one in the crew to leave alone this shift, while everyone stayed till 7 am.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hours
CASHIER (Former Employee), Regina, SKApril 11, 2015
Pros: Lots of scheduled hours
Cons: being sent home
There are lots of hours given but usually they lack staff.
During busy hours there are not enough people on the floor because most staff are sent home during down hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place
Cashier (Current Employee), Prince George, BCApril 8, 2015
Pros: Free drinks on the job, 50% off your meals
I enjoy working there, its fun and exciting. Very fast working environment lots of regulars that go there. They work around what works for you. I have being trained by a few people who work there and they – more... are patient and take time to teach you. I have never worked in a fast food environment. A&W makes it worth my time and effort to learn the industry. Lots of opportunity to move up from cashier or whatever position you start at. So far so good. I have learned allot and I just recently started. All my Co-workers are great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning Experience.
Cashier (Former Employee), Chestermere, ABApril 7, 2015
Pros: Free coffee.
Cons: Standing all day.
I cleaned counters, did dishes, helped customers at the tills and in the drive threw. I swept and mopped the dinning area and the bathrooms. I refilled cups and straws. I took out the trash. I also cleaned both washrooms. I learned how to work in a fast paced environment and how to clean and bust tables fast. My hardest part of the day is the rush at lunch and supper.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good first job with good hours
Volunteer at Summerland's senior village (Former Employee), Summerland, BCApril 4, 2015
Pros: 50% off meals on shift
I started working at A&W at the age of 13, it was a good first job. But is lacking in certain areas. My personal experience with A&W hasn't been exactly the best due to multiple reasons. How ever I will admit it has taught me good life skills that I will carry with me through future employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Cashier (Current Employee), Stistissville, Ottawa ONApril 1, 2015
Pros: 50% discount on staff meals
Cons: Working during the statuary holidays
Working at A&W is a fun. every single day we meet different people. Taking their orders and learn different things from various customers from different countries. The manager always try to give us new – more... and challenging tasks which helps to keep our brain working. The other employees are really so friendly and always ready to help each other. Sometimes the manager has given me the inventory counting which is kind of fun and also count the cash many times which is kind a hard job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the people
Cashier (Current Employee), Prince George, BCMarch 29, 2015
Pros: discounted food
Cons: floors are bad for my knees
I liked working there for one of my first jobs. Its not that difficult if you work alot so coming to work brainless after attending university was a bonus. I didnt really have to be on my toes too much because it was all in my head programmed from doing it for so long. I love customer service but sometimes the customers make the day aweful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work!
Cook (Former Employee), Exeter, ONMarch 27, 2015
I really enjoyed working here!
The management staff was great as well as the rest of the staff!
My job was to cook and clean the kitchen as needed.