A&W Restaurants Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 692 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fast paced work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Fort St John, BCMay 19, 2016
It is a very busy place and with lots of customers per day to serve. It was a great place to learn how to work under pressure and time management.
Pros
Staff Discount
Cons
Very busy place
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, educational, and great to start.
Front cashier (Former Employee) –  Squamish, BCMay 17, 2016
typical day would be taking orders and delivering customers with a smile.
I learned typical cashier, and housekeeping, along with customer service.
Co-workers and so much fun and supportive.
Management is always great.
Most hardest part is learning the chicken part of the menu on the till.
Enjoyable part is the discount on food, but be careful not to gain weight.
Pros
Discounts for emploees
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned from my expereience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 17, 2016
I properly learned how to handle customers and coworkers in an appropriate and respectful manner. It helped me develop my interpersonal skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great owners , easy going atmosphere
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ONMay 17, 2016
Good place to work especially for a first job. Lots of attention paid to training new employees. Great owners knew everyone's name and made everyone feel important to the team. Easy to get along with everyone.
Pros
great communication, friendly atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBMay 15, 2016
A&W is a good work place, they have a lot of varieties of food they have and the people that work there are really friendly and always happy to go to work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Shawnessy, ABMay 11, 2016
At the A&W I worked at everyone seemed like family as I have worked there for a long time. They do a great job welcoming people in the workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment but heavy on work hours and bad management
Cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 10, 2016
The work place had a friendly and very helpful environment for new comers. The work load given in the first day was a bit overwhelming and required me to cover many hours over the week.

Worked through two locations as staff was starting to run short. Due to working in two locations assigned by the company sometimes I would not get payed my overtime unless I complained.

The people were friendly an helped when they could but the management in staff was terrible at times, requiring me to work over-time two to three times a week with six days of work.

The fast phase work environment helped me to increase my efficiency and speed when working. I enjoy talking with my co-workers when the workplace was not busy.
Pros
discount of food
Cons
long work hours and many overtime shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, great setting.
Cashier/ Janitorial duties (Current Employee) –  Corner Brook, NLMay 9, 2016
Fast paced environment, learning development skills, how to use a cash register, fill out orders on time. Easy-going, management is great.Co-workers friendly but also some may vary. Difficult communicating with kitchen staff at times, but an overall great place to start off in the working field.
Pros
Half the price for employers only if they are working
Cons
No free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exactly what you would expect working in fast food
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 8, 2016
Generally a pretty neutral experience, some customers can be challenging, my work staff was great, job duties can be physically demanding at times.
Pros
customer service experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I all ready did this
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ONMay 8, 2016
I all ready did this so I'm just filling this in cause apparently its asking me to do my a&w thing again. hopefully I can delete this
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Kitchen Aide (Former Employee) –  Innisfail, ABMay 7, 2016
Was a good working environment. Liked the staff and the management. Harder keeping pace on the burger line in kitchen during rushes.
Pros
30% discount
Cons
Was not getting promised hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BCMay 3, 2016
Handling Food Prep
Cash and debit transactions
Taking orders in a fast paced environment
Cleaning and closing of store
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ONMay 1, 2016
It's fun to work here, all the burger making process is amazing itself.
Sometimes its too much when just one or two people are working and managing both drive-thru and kitchen and cleaning stuff when it gets busy.
Otherwise its fun to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Cashier/Cook (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BCMay 1, 2016
I always love going to work each shift, i always leave with a smile on my face after every shift. i always had fun with customers and co workers, and i loved making each customer smile.
Pros
nice co-workers
Cons
grumpy customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A restaurant with a lot of different burgers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Milton, ONApril 29, 2016
- cleaning and worked at store front
- learned customer service, i.e. how to talk with customers
- hardest part was to learn about the till and everything, however, once I learned it it was easier
Pros
easy job
Cons
a lot of memorization
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free lunch
Service Trainer (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BCApril 25, 2016
Taking orders and cash both efficiently and promptly.

Cleaning entire store and helping kitchen.

Learned how to use a register and how to take orders.
As well as how to prepare everything for the next shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sexist, horrible owner
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  Vermilion, ABApril 24, 2016
owner put his hands around my neck, constantly touching all female employees, will not hire males, lies constantly, unprofessional owner
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need more exposure in some other work
Food Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Ponoka, ABApril 22, 2016
Company is well established but i need to explore my experience with another company. Doing almost the managerial position but to extend more working job.
Pros
free meal
Cons
minimum 7 to 8 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and exciting workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BCApril 21, 2016
A typical day at work was fun but challenging. Management was very friendly and understanding. There was a family feel to the organisation and really enjoyed working with my fellow co workers.

I learned that you have to be friendly to customers no matter what kind of a day you are having which something i managed to do. The hardest part of the job where the days when there was no work available.

I enjoyed interacting with customers the most, I met a lot of nice people and I met people form different backgrounds. I really enjoyed working and interacting with others.
Pros
discounts on meals
Cons
could go for hours without a lot of customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and challenging work place
Food Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Regina, SKApril 19, 2016
As a summer intern, I got to work on the client services team along with 20 other interns. The team I was placed on delegated me real work to help them with. Having to balance the work given to me could be difficult at times for at the same time, I had to stay coordinated with the other interns in order to work on our group project. However, everyone I worked with was willing to help and very friendly. The company culture is wonderful, the employees generally seem happy to be working there! I think the energy of the environment drove everyone to do their best, at least for me it did! I learned how to work and prioritze multiple tasks at a time. I also was able to improve my research and presentation skills.
Pros
flexible shift
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 891 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5