A&W Restaurants Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 710 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job with lots of advancement opportunities
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BCJune 14, 2016
My first fast food job was at A&W Restaurants. It was a great way to meet new people, gain experience, and have fun. However it depends on the management you have (just like any job you may have in life).
Pros
Great experience, happy environment
Cons
not as flexible as can be
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management and scheduling
Part-Time Cashier / Sales Person (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ONJune 13, 2016
I worked their for three months and it was terrible after the first two weeks. They asked for my schedule in the interview and after the first two weeks they completely disregarded my personal schedule.

There are no 15 minute breaks
Lunch is only given after 5 and a half hour shift
People were rude and inconsiderate
Pros
40% discount on food and free drinks
Cons
Scheduling does not benefit you.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Trenton, ONJune 12, 2016
The Coworkers were my favorite part of going to work. They make your entire day better. I enjoy making the customers happy. Didn't enjoy the rude customers. Not much room for advancement. Heard " We promote from within" and was there for years with 1 raise to .10 cents and multiple new managers and supervisors hired, not promoted.
Pros
Enjoy coworkers, regular customers, making customers happy
Cons
no advancment, little to no pay raises, good workers go unnoticed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management and coworkers
Kitchen Staff - Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BCJune 6, 2016
This was a great first job and was easy to get the hang of quickly. After being in the Norkam construction sampler I would like to move onto something similar. I found it as a more appropriate job since I will be finishing school soon and will be able to work longer hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work at
Cook (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJune 5, 2016
I was very nervous on my first day of the job since this was my first job. However, the supervisor, as well as the co-workers were very helpful and patient with me as I learned my way around things. I was able to learn many different things and enjoy at the same time. I loved the work environment; everyone took their job very seriously, which made me want to accomplish more.
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours and decent pay
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Nisku, ABJune 5, 2016
I managed to save up a lot of money while working hour, with most weeks running me up into overtime hour territory. I liked the people I worked with but I am unfamiliar with any of the staff that work there now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, long term employment.
Cashier and cook (Current Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ONJune 4, 2016
A typical day of work at A&W would consist of taking Customer orders and making burgers. At A&W I learned how to multitask and keep myself busy. I also learned how to interact with Customer's and with my co-workers. The Management at A&W is excellent, and always treat their employees with respect. Many of my co-workers are enjoyable to work with as well. The hardest part of the job is that due to higher food cost and employee wages, hours have been cut so there is often more work spread out between fewer people. The most enjoyable part is interacting with the various people that come in throughout the day.
Pros
The people I work with.
Cons
Too much work for a small amount of people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Quesnel, BCJune 2, 2016
busy days always kept on my feet and moving. i loved my job but there wasnt enough hours needed more hours. i loved being around my co workers we all got along
Pros
discount on food
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONJune 2, 2016
you can enjoy working there.
dealing everyday with customers brings good experience .
management is helpful.
new things to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, energetic work place
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Elmsdale, NSJune 1, 2016
Everyday I went to work i was welcomed with opened hearts and friendly smiles, everyone was very kind and work well with one another. I learned how to work with the the co-workers different methods.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean place and good if your looking towards working in the foods industry.
Cook/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, ABMay 30, 2016
A day at work would start coming to work dressed and ready. Clocking in my hours and washing my hands. Being back in the kitchen cleaning the equipment, stocking the fridges, and cooking the food to be served to the customer. Taking out any garbage that was needed to be throw away. Having one break and when my shift was over, clocking out and going home.
Pros
Service time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work at bbc a&w
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONMay 24, 2016
worst manager ever! and they had cockroaches !
got fired because i had to go the hospital

it was very fast paced and hot and it was just an awful environment.
the co workers were all rude except 2
Cons
you don't get a discount on combos. they're all about their money. you mean nothing to them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 22, 2016
not organized at all, rude co workers rude boss, pay under the table not good at all, very slow pace job did not seem like people wanted to work there their attitude was not good and did not know how to train properly I had to basically train myself.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment full of hard working, over achievers.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Merivale, ONMay 21, 2016
A typical day includes showing up, being greeted and asked how my day is going, and the changing, getting on the work floor, start restocking and getting prepped for any possible rushes. Dealing with customer orders and complaints, while consistently taking drive through orders.
Pros
50% off, great relationships, good management.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, meeting new people everyday
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ONMay 19, 2016
Ive learned from the management team, co workers are great.
I enjoy people and to see a customer come back and we know our names.....feels like your at cheers....where every one knows your name.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fast paced work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Fort St John, BCMay 19, 2016
It is a very busy place and with lots of customers per day to serve. It was a great place to learn how to work under pressure and time management.
Pros
Staff Discount
Cons
Very busy place
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, educational, and great to start.
Front cashier (Former Employee) –  Squamish, BCMay 17, 2016
typical day would be taking orders and delivering customers with a smile.
I learned typical cashier, and housekeeping, along with customer service.
Co-workers and so much fun and supportive.
Management is always great.
Most hardest part is learning the chicken part of the menu on the till.
Enjoyable part is the discount on food, but be careful not to gain weight.
Pros
Discounts for emploees
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned from my expereience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 17, 2016
I properly learned how to handle customers and coworkers in an appropriate and respectful manner. It helped me develop my interpersonal skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great owners , easy going atmosphere
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ONMay 17, 2016
Good place to work especially for a first job. Lots of attention paid to training new employees. Great owners knew everyone's name and made everyone feel important to the team. Easy to get along with everyone.
Pros
great communication, friendly atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBMay 15, 2016
A&W is a good work place, they have a lot of varieties of food they have and the people that work there are really friendly and always happy to go to work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 913 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5