A&W Restaurants Employee Reviews

Found 869 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical everyday minimum wage job
Cashier/Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON25 January 2017
work hard, little pay, little to no recognition, typical from these kind of franchised. there are many incentives to get a free lunch item on your breaks if you get drive through times though!
Pros
lunch incentives
Cons
minimal pay, no recognition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place for a student to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Burns Lake, BC24 February 2017
As a student I found meaningful part time work at A&W and the only reason I left was the favoritism the management had, an issue not found at every A&W, all in all a good place to work part time or when you need a fairly reliable place to work.
Pros
Cheap food
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Cashier & Cook (Former Employee) –  Stony Plain, AB8 January 2017
Working at A&W can be very beneficial. Certain restaurants off scholarships depending on the owner as well as good benefits for full time employees. The workplace is generally busy but the hours can be flexible.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
very busy/fast pase work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere
Superviser (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON27 December 2016
Always new things happening, new challenges.With an excellent group of co-workers, a helpful and caring management. The hardest part of the job was cleaning fryers and the easiest part was dealing with the customers .I enjoyed it.
Pros
Discount on food
Cons
Constant fast pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly enviroment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ON6 March 2017
At A&W its a fast passe environment i enjoyed that your day goes by very fast and being bilingual the customers who didn't speak English were trilled that i could speak there language.
Pros
Discount on meals
Cons
Long hours on your feet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A&W Brantford
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON4 January 2017
Loved working there the owners made everyone feel like they were a important part of the working family... food service was tops food was always served hot and drinks were always cold other than hot drinks...
Pros
Awesome working environment
Cons
Located in a mall restricted hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management sucks big time
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Aldergrove, BC11 March 2017
Was injured requiring surgery at work , was called a few days later asking if i was coming back. After lying on the wcb paperwork, then lied that my physio therapist didnt send the papers to actually get back to work
Pros
Discount
Cons
Minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Nova Scotia Cashier (Former Employee) –  Yarmouth, NS30 January 2017
Atypical day at work consit of makig sure everything was stocked for the day and also till was floated for the day.
It was a good place to work, got along with eveyone.
the boss was really nice.
loved working there.
Pros
half price meals when working
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC26 December 2016
Hard and dangerous. So disrespectful management and careless about employees. If you are sick you have to work because manager or supervisor does not want to find someone and they don't wanna get tired.so you have to work even you are dying.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Dangerous
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staff so days passed qucikly
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Parksville, BC4 March 2017
business was usually busy when I started my shift and it stayed that way for a few hours before dying down until dinner so there was always time to clean. everyone worked well as a team and that made the days go by quickly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work well in school
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Hope, BC10 February 2017
Great starter job to show you how an actual job with scheduling works and can earn good money for a student to earn well in high school to save for a car or phone
Pros
People at the job tried mackin it fun
Cons
Long hours not many raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is great until people don't like you for no apparent reason, probably racist.
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB12 October 2016
it was fun and great, make friends and have fun, until someone snaps on you for nothing, then that person's friends begin to act the same toward you, and when you are working alone with those people, life sucks, they treat you like ish, other than those horrible people, life at the a&w was great
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, friendly co-workers and customers
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON3 January 2017
A typical work consisted of greeting costumers and preparing their orders at a timely manner. Working with friendly co-workers provided a healthy work environment.
Pros
Nice work environment
Cons
Transportation and short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dependable
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC5 February 2017
i had this job before i went to Australia so it was easy for me to jump back into it. i knew a lot already and just had to be updated. I'm a hard worker and get my job done well.
Pros
dependable, steady, generally easy (for me)
Cons
not enough earnings to support my needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Food & beverage server / counter attendant (Former Employee) –  Valleyview, AB13 March 2017
was my first actual job i ever had. i truly enjoyed it. i would take an extra shift for sure if i was ever asked. the boss and co workers were easy to get along with. id definitley suggest working here for a first job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment to work in
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Trenton, ON19 January 2017
I enjoyed working with the coworkers I had, we always helped each other with tasks and when it came to training the new employees they always gave respect and asked for help when needed.
Pros
Break times
Cons
Upset customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but bias
Marine Drive - Service Crew (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC28 November 2016
the management is very bias in the restaurant i worked at specifically. i worked for them since it opened and yet they romted the person who was hired months after i was working for them, reason: because this person was older than me, so i thought that wasnt fair .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to learn
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 March 2017
Was a great place to learn new things and make new friends. I worked the busier shift so it gave me confidence to work in a fast paced environment and make quick decisions as well
Pros
discount on food items
Cons
fewer holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to start out with
Senior Line Cook/ Trainer (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK3 November 2016
Worked for 3 years at the Center mall location, I gained advancement into supervisor/trainer at my 2nd year mark and I ensure safe preparation and as little loss as possible.
Good job just moved away from that life.
Pros
Good starting job
Cons
Not enough pay for effort and time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace, fast paced
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Rothesay, NB26 September 2016
Very fast paced and always busy, I learned always serve customers fast and with a smile, management was very nice and hard worker, co workers worked well together and became a good team, hardest part of the job was it was always busy but the days always went by fast and i' was never standing around.
Pros
discount
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,112 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5