A&W Restaurants Employee Reviews

Found 1,035 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair, equal, friendly, family like environment
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON4 July 2017
with all work places it has its pros and cons but currently because of the bosses i have been granted with i would say they are the only people who keep me motivated in the job i do and the work ethic i continue with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 July 2017
i like working here because its balance with work and life and plus my manager is very nice she favor everyone at work and alsk coworkers are very nice and great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome workplace
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NS30 June 2017
Best job i have ever had hands down. The staff and management are all more than amazing. Staff always works as a team and gets things done properly and efficiently. Excellent place to work.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
early mornings, late nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun workplace
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 June 2017
The job is a very straight forward job and everyone is super friendly, but they don't raise the salary. But overall the experience was great as I worked here for 2 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
A&W Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stony Plain, AB28 June 2017
I loved it! everyone was very helpful and worked with me so I knew what I was doing.

The atmosphere was wonderful, everyone was very welcoming and I was trained properly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Terrace, BC28 June 2017
I loved working at A&W. Management was friendly and accommodating to my hours. I learned a lot about customer service and how to properly handle dissatisfied customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very upbeat and fun
supervisor (shift manager) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 June 2017
honestly it was always more of a home to me than a job. It was definitely one of my best jobs where there was productivity, great management, awesome team members and a very helpful and respectful management. Would go back anytime.
Pros
great environment
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work at.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Smithers, BC28 June 2017
You learn skills such as how to work as a team.
It is a very clean enviorment. everyone there is very helpful and respectful. You learn good organization habits. They have good supervision. You learn on how to solve problems with customers orders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Service à la clientèle Début (Former Employee) –  Ange-gardien, QC27 June 2017
C'était très enrichissant comme premier emploi, formation complète qui est utile même dans d'autres emplois, expérience positive.
Pros
Bon rabais employé (50%), bel encadrement
Cons
Peu de tips
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harsh management, not much leeway and not a positive atmosphere
Front Counter Staff (Current Employee) –  Ingersoll, ON27 June 2017
Working at A&W has been quite an experience. The first few months were great, everyone was happy and it was a great place to work. However, after those few months, the workplace grew gloomy, and it was extremely obvious no one really enjoyed working there. The management was very poor at communicating new rules, and was extremely inconsiderate of employee's schedules. Certainly will not be working there again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst management ever
Cook (Former Employee) –  1879 Victoria Avenue East26 June 2017
People were douchebag and judgemental
They only gave us 1 day of training and expected us to do good in our job
Whenever I greet my manager she will just look at me and looked disgusted
they gave me really few hours of work and expected me to be really quick. How can I work fast if don't they give me enough time to work and practice
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON26 June 2017
Good place for students to work
Friendly, kind environment
Opportunities for advancement
A&W taught me transferable skills that will help me in the working world
Pros
Co workers
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC25 June 2017
Love the people I work with and the atmosphere is great, if you are dedicated and hard working you will like working here. They usually work with the hours you request but just remember that if you go above and beyond they will notice and when it comes time to ask for a raise, you are most likely to get.
Pros
40% off food when you go on break
Cons
dealing with argumentitive customers sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expérience plus ou moins agréable
Caissière, service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Hawkesbury, ON24 June 2017
Servir des clients, les rendent heureux le plus possible.
Malheureusement la communication n'y était pas et il y avait une tension général sur le plancher.
Pros
repas a moitié prix pendant le shift, et a 20% lorsqu'on était pas séduler
Cons
mauvaise esprit d'équipe au sein des employés
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Team Member/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC23 June 2017
It is a fun to work at A&W . I got to sharpen my customer service skills. Also got to work under my supervisors. Also i learnt how to work under pressure. It was a good experience.
Pros
Free food at graveyard
Cons
Long shifts at graveyard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great managers
Cook (Current Employee) –  Sarnia, ON23 June 2017
i love the people i work with, they are very nice and understanding. I go into work and finish work always happy. It is a hard place to work, very fast but at the end of the day im happy with it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Food and Beverage Server (Current Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC22 June 2017
The ambiance is good a lot of people are coming in and it is a busy restaurant. I learned to develop my knowledge and skills and continue to learn. The management is good.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun upbeat people
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK22 June 2017
is fast paced and need to be able to work well under these conditions. other then that pretty good job, your required to clean and help costumers and to fix a problem that might occur with an order.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The foods pretty good
Shift Supperviser (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON20 June 2017
A and W's work environment was mostly enjoyable. Working with teenagers could at times create interesting challenges. Like all fast food restaurants the customers can be either friendly or troublesome.
Pros
relaxed work environment
Cons
tennagers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did not like the new company that took over
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Vancouver Island, BC20 June 2017
I did not like the new company that took over. the management is good. the company that took over changed everything. making it a vary defendant company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at A&W Restaurants. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,313 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5