A&W Restaurants Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company
Cook / Food Preparer (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON4 February 2018
This company is a great company to work for and easy work the manager is easy going and he is flexible with hours and he let people with students have school days take it off work
Pros
50% off food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good place to work
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 February 2018
it was nice to work at a&w, there was nice workers there and they always greeted me when i came to work. I would so work at a&w again.when i started working at a&w the training was perfect and i was shown everything that was needed to cook in a clean and safe environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard, but fulfilling work
Chef (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC31 January 2018
Sometimes its slow, sometimes there is a rush of people coming in and then it can get really difficult, but after you get through it you feel as though you accomplished something
Pros
Root Beer
Cons
Stressful sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC30 January 2018
One of the best places i have worked at .Always had a fun time working there, and have one of the best manager and supervisors.
my coworkers were amazing and i miss working there alot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a harsh place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB29 January 2018
There was so many things that were dysfunctional people showing up high and late and only got told off but you miss one little anything you would never hear the end of it
Pros
Good discounts and great co workers
Cons
Long hours Grubby Kitchen
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with, great environment
Food Prep / Cook (Current Employee) –  Ontario29 January 2018
The People who work at A&W are quite great, they are very easy to work with, and very understanding about the availability to have some time off. They are very understanding and caring throughout their entire day at work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place for learning and developments
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 January 2018
I started my part time job as a kitchen helper , employer gave me an opportunity to become a coordinator ,which open door for my personnel growth and development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Various Positions (Former Employee) –  Sooke, BC26 January 2018
I worked there when I was a kid in highschool don't really remember much about it, flexible hours and decent pay for a 16 year old I suppose wouldn't go back to it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Food Restaurant - 3.5 stars
Counter Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC26 January 2018
I enjoyed interaction with co-workers and customers. This was the best part of this job. Other than that it is the same as any other fast food restaurant I presume.
Pros
Good Managers, perks with 30% reduction on meals, good work/life balance
Cons
long time staff do not want to work and literally work to death new recruits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BC26 January 2018
Easy place to get a job and keep one
I learned both kitchen and front in a year
Management was fine to work under
cleaning the grease trap was the hardest part
Most enjoyable was the people
Pros
Good Discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Fairview, AB25 January 2018
A&W is a friendly fun place to work. They serve great food blazingly fast and with a positive attitude. If your looming to start working it's a great place to start.
Pros
Discounted food
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunity to manage
Manager (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC25 January 2018
I loved working, be taught, opportunity to manage to restaurant. It was a very fast paced facility where I learned many new skills. I loved the chance to manage but the way in which the owners daughter took position back was not fair to me.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC24 January 2018
Fun place to work , fast paced and on your feet for 8 hours, hardest part of the job is serving all customers quickly and efficiently with little to no errors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy consistent place to work
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB23 January 2018
One of the managers was horrible and went out of his way to make your day bad. Other manager was very nice and would often give you free food and expressed interest in your life outside of work.
Pros
food is good
Cons
bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience while studying
Kitchen staff (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 January 2018
Fast Paced
Super Busy Job
Good Staff and Managers
Friendly Atmosphere and Work Culture
Management is flexible to schedule you as per your availability.
Okay-ish employee discount
Food is always fresh as per the process.
Pros
Good Experience
Cons
Super Busy Always
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive , good atmosphere
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Whatcome road Abbotsford20 January 2018
This is very good place for the guests Nd employees. The staff is friendly Nd cooperative. They make fresh food for their guests. Their service is fast . The management of this fast food place is very good.
Pros
50% discount to employees
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Predictable mostly positive environment
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stony Plain, AB19 January 2018
Working at A&W was a enjoyable experience. My day would start simply taking orders and serving out plated breakfasts and responding with the customers to ensure they enjoy their stay. I would always have a smile on my face and landed the nickname "Smiley" from the regulars coming in almost daily. I greatly enjoyed working with and serving costumers. I found it quite easy to place a smile on nearly every customer I served, which to me was the most important aside from the orders being correct. Main Management was very kind and never made me feel uncomfortable. The most difficult bit about the job was the schedule organization being off, often not informing me of the next work day, if scheduled at all.
Pros
Customer interaction
Cons
lack of schedule organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON19 January 2018
I had the worst expieeance here. The owner of the franchise I worked at was not always very pleasant to work with and was sexist. I would not recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
cook (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON18 January 2018
great place to work just trying something different , fast pace environment , great people to work with but my hour was getting shorter all the time because not that busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 January 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job is you get to talk to a variety of people. Giving them all they need and exceeding the service that they are expecting from you.
Pros
free drinks
Cons
lots of standing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at A&W Restaurants. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,652 reviews
5451
4533
3417
2149
1102

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture