A&W Restaurants Employee Reviews

Found 727 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stress free work enviorment with great co-workers
kitchen staff (grill) (Former Employee) –  Stratford, ONAugust 18, 2016
I liked working at A&W it was fun even when it was busy there was no stress all the co-workers were nice fun people to be around they we're helpful and easy to get along with you could be so busy it was raining teen burgers but you didn't really feel it because the whole atmosphere of the place was kinda fun and relaxed you know even the supervisors would be cracking jokes sometimes.
Pros
employee discount
Cons
being on your feet all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unsafe
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 15, 2016
i worked alone for 3 months alone over night at the queen and spadina location. the manager would turn off his phone & bribe with extra pay for the employees to stay longer than scheduled. anytime there was an issue, it was never dealt with the right way. the thing i enjoyed the most about the job were the beautiful customers
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay
Restaurant Cook and Cashier (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BCAugust 14, 2016
-messed up schedules
-no benefits
-does not get paid in holidays at all for part time
-manager(s) does not teach well newbies
-customers are super mean and very demanding
Pros
free lunches and drinks
Cons
long hours, no breaks at all if busy, improper salary
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BCAugust 10, 2016
Worked as part of a Work experience program as a Fry Cook.

- Friendly and Helpful Co-Workers and Supervisors (Everyone was a team player)
- Great Workplace environment
Pros
Free Drinks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the stafe was great but the boss was bad
Cook (Former Employee) –  Aldergrove, BCAugust 9, 2016
the boss did not fix things like the aircontion in the winter time it brokdown and we had to work in cold in winter time with no heat she toke time off you're pay check like 10 house a check
Pros
like the people i work with
Cons
did not like my boss
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at Times But Very Demanding.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brighton, ONAugust 6, 2016
The co-workers are great (well most of them), the management is very poor, only getting your schedule a couple days before you can work, so you can't plan ahead. You are always required to bring a doctors note if you get sick even if it's something small like the flu, you always have to have a replacement. Hardest part of the job is to make sure that you close right all the time and customers aren't upset. The best part are the staff they always do what they can. I learned that I have to be responsible and organised and that somethings aren't meant to be.
Pros
Discounts off 1 meal per shift
Cons
Over worked, no notice in advanced, busy all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Organized company.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 4, 2016
It is well organized and well managed work environment little to no stress. Most of the co workers were decent people making it worthwhile to work there and the restaurant was well managed making stress almost non existent.
Pros
Great workers and management and decent pay.
Cons
far distance to travel, and location is hard to reach.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a very enjoyable job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  harwood and baylyAugust 4, 2016
I love working with people so that would be my favorite part of the day. I've always loved hard work im very independent. I love learning new things and meeting new people
Pros
we got 40% off our food
Cons
worked over time when it was required
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Cook (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BCAugust 2, 2016
very nice people and a great job for high school students. i would have stayed longer if my sport schedule did not conflict with my work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall challenging workplace
Area Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 1, 2016
While working for A&W I learned a lot, with having over 8 years of Management experience under my belt, I felt quite confident and comfortable towards any future opportunities.

My typical day at work is making sure all store under my area in compliance and well managed.

Management has very strong work ethic and expect excellence.

I did not find anything hard with my current job, and new challenges and tasks make me learn and grow.

Most enjoyable part of my job is making sure all tasks for the day are complete and every guest is happy when they walk out of the restaurant.
Cons
not enough time for family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hated it
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Cloverdale, BCJuly 28, 2016
hated it. The manager didnt train me enough. Half the jobs i was told to do were not taught to me. Depending on the location though, you might have a better experience than i did.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Millstream, BCJuly 28, 2016
Productive and fun work environment.
Good management.
Can easily balance school and work.
Great co-workers
Gain great work experience and customer survice skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not flexible
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJuly 27, 2016
Management wasn't very flexible. I started college while working there and some times I had to skip class in order to go to work because they wouldn't let me go a little later.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not recommend this job to anybody
Assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, ABJuly 26, 2016
The restaurant I worked for was owned by a company, there was a lot of favouritism and favourism, work place was very stressful
Franchise standards were not followed, no appreciation for work.
I would love to share this incidence here, as per franchise rule every
restaurant is bound to have a temperature binder and they have to be noted everyday. When I stared to do them as the job was assigned to me after I was promoted, I found a mistakes in the previous months, the person did not knew the difference between Celsius and fahrenheit, so I told my area manager about it as there was no manager there at that point of time. She got mad at me and said its same I had to argue with her and explained her that its different though they both are units of temperature but have different value for same temperature. So she called A&W corporate to confirm that and she was the one recording temperatures before me. I don't know how that restaurant passed the audits in past.
Pros
I personally don't know any
Cons
Everything about that place
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Dorchester, ONJuly 23, 2016
The manager there isn't very productive. Everyone on day staff just does what they want and every other shift is expected to pick up the slack of the day staff. No one does what they are suppose to or asked to. It's all kids that work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONJuly 20, 2016
how to adjust in any situation
how to work with a team
time management
making food is the enjoyable part of the job
co-operative workers
Pros
good management
Cons
less hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved it here
Cook (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BCJuly 16, 2016
I absolutely loved it here, they were willing to work around my schedule, give me the hours I need, very friendly everyone treated each other with respect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and staff are great
Kitchen Staff (Current Employee) –  Lindsay, ONJuly 14, 2016
good company to work for , just not enough work hours
coworkers are great and easy to get along with and work together great
typical day at work is usually very busy and fast paced
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONJuly 13, 2016
I got to work Day in and day out with kids and it was such good feelings, teaching them about what I know and having them teach me too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace, management was not the best
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, ABJuly 8, 2016
I would go to work it was great, love to interact with guests,
the day depended on the staff and how well we got along as if things will go smoothly.

my co- workers were really positive and energetic
i really enjoyed interacting with guests and got to know them a bit better and just to be able to make them smile was the best part of the day :)
Pros
discounted food
Cons
no free food lol
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 937 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5