A&W Restaurants Employee Reviews

Found 766 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There was a lot
Kitchen Crew/ Front Staff (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC29 November 2016
A typical work day is getting yelled at and saying I wasn't doing enough when I was working kitchen and front. People would get mad at me when their food wasn't coming up fast enough and going to the back to find my coworkers on their phones. Management would blame myself and coworkers for having a bad attitude when I (with a few others) would take control over lunch and get the times we needed and then would get blamed for everything that wasn't done. I did not enjoy working there and refuse to go back
Pros
50% off meals
Cons
long hours with very little apperciation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but bias
Marine Drive - Service Crew (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC28 November 2016
the management is very bias in the restaurant i worked at specifically. i worked for them since it opened and yet they romted the person who was hired months after i was working for them, reason: because this person was older than me, so i thought that wasnt fair .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edson, AB25 November 2016
I enjoyed working a time this restaurant. Everyone was very friendly. The customers never walked away mad because we fixed problems with Thier orders.
Pros
Friends
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work at the restaurant
Kitchen staff (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC25 November 2016
Would come in and put hairnet on . Cleaned hands , Cleaned up area . I would then wash hands again and make onion rings by hand . Then after that I would clean area again and put the finished product in the freezer . I would then wash the lettuce and tomato's and then prepare the salads . I learned how to work faster . The management was great . She would always help me out if I had questions or concerns . I got along with Co-Workers we worked as a great team . I liked seeing how fast I could finish the job and still keep it with good quality .
Pros
good team work
Cons
short hours not enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Burgers
Head Cashier and Trainer (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON25 November 2016
I enjoyed my time at A&W.
The hardest part is mornings as the menue is far more demanding.
My fellow emploees were friendly and funny.
My favourite thing was drive thru.
Pros
Free drinks and half off food
Cons
Improper treatment of shifts and breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON24 November 2016
Great atmosphere
SSupportive coworkers
Cooperative management
Love to work in A&W because I like customer interaction

I enjoy working in such a good environment where I seeek minimal supervision and perform according to the standards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BC21 November 2016
A&W is a place with poor management. the scheduling is not bad and the way things are done are orderly and done in a professional manor. it is a clean, friendly place to work.
Pros
Scheduling
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is team work
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  High Prairie, AB17 November 2016
Working with this company is a great experience. All the staff are good and the owner as well. This company mold me in my career and trained me for my future opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Operator (Former Employee) –  Ladysmith, BC15 November 2016
Great people to work with, had some good times and some bad, but we made it through and raised our restaurant to the #2 position in all of Canada from last place! Good times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Alliston, ON15 November 2016
Was here before the.management changed and It was still not that bad of a place to work .. though I'm sure it would be a lot. More.organized. now .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an awesome place to work
kitchen helper and prep work (Former Employee) –  Valleyview, AB14 November 2016
in my two and a half month I learned lots during this experience such as making the burgers and chicken and fries the co worker were very helpful the pay was ok
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Sooke, BC12 November 2016
I enjoyed working at Safeway dew to meeting a lot of new people it was close to my home Safeway has great management just not enough hours to work there
Pros
great managment
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun co-workers, great work environment.
Fast Food Attendant (Current Employee) –  Port Kells, BC11 November 2016
Management is great and everyone is so nice to work with. Great work environment. Learning a lot and the training is very thorough and hands on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhat productive.
Cashier dishwasher food prep (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC10 November 2016
A typical day at work required you to be alert, as it was very busy.

I've learned how unsanitary the system was.

Management was very poor.

The co-workers were cruel.
Cons
Unsanitary racist remarks made by co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has a very flexible work hours
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 November 2016
A&W has a very good management and they care about their employees. I would recommend working in A&W because you will learn a lot like; communicating to people and handling money
Pros
50% discount on meals
Cons
Less hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was just a job to me because people i work with where not to nice
Restaurant Laborer (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB6 November 2016
A&W was just a job to me becuase i never really got alot of hours people i work with including a manger where not every nice everyone that was there was part of there on click /group i didn't not like it there i did however love the customer and helping them with there orders getting to know the regulars
Pros
the 50% off meals any time was nice
Cons
to many clicks not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people to work with
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 November 2016
Taking orders from customers. Handling cash and register. Giving food to customers. Helping in the kitchen and cleaning floors and tables. Helping open and close the store.
Pros
good food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and safe place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON5 November 2016
Working at A&W as an cashier for 2 years has thought me a lot of things which I find it to be essential on my future career. I learned to deal with customers under stressful and unfavourable conditions, winning and keeping our customers. My management skills has improved as well such as making sound judgement, fast-decision making and proactively dealing with the problems before it arises. The management has supported and thought me a lot, whenever I have difficulties they are always there to give advice.
The hardest part of the job, is when employees are doing substandard jobs and have to correct them. The Fun part is we do celebrate our small and big wins, like getting good compliment from our customers or if the shift went smoothly under a busy rush hour.
Pros
50% discount on food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first time job
Supervisor/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, ON4 November 2016
Great place to work for your first time job. lots of opportunities to advance. Great learning experience.

Busy days can be stressfull, definitely if understaffed. After a while you get used to managing shifts better and Working efficiently as a team.
Pros
50% staff meals free managermeals and gaurentee hours
Cons
Overtime stressfull
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON4 November 2016
Co workers were great. Management could of been nicer. I learn how to deal with customers, Hardest part was how fast one needed to be for both drive thru and counter.
Pros
great co workers
Cons
fast food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 987 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5