Find companies:
7-Eleven
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,114 reviews

7-Eleven Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7-eleven verrryyy busy
Cashier/Stock (Former Employee), Boston, MAJune 9, 2012
Pros: awesome gain of experience
Cons: long hours
As a employee at 7-eleven you had to be fast-paced. There were customers always coming in for any and everything. Especially if its located in the hospital area. How many people wouldn't come in there. I was able to meet customers and gain regular customers. After a while, I began to know immediately what was needed from which person. My co-workers – more... could have been better at trying, and if something wasn't understood, asking wouldn't have been bad either. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Burned after management training program
Manager Trainee (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 8, 2012
Cons: no breaks
I worked harder than any of the others in the management training program - cleaning and serving customers and got let go because of the inefficiences in the training program (computer based and boring as heck!). The training manager was a lazy so and so who did no training.
My advice - DON'T DO IT !! You can find a better job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Temporary Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Golden, BCMay 3, 2012
Pros: enjoying the meeting of different people
Cons: not being trained properly to run, operate a convenience store
A typical day was going to work and opening safe, balancing cash, making sure chicken was on time. what i learned is that one has to be properly trained to run a c-store. co-workers were ok, would have been better if i wasn't friends with them before i was asked to be a temporary store manager. the hardest part of this job, was that i feel i wasn't – more... trained properly to run and operate a convenience store. The most enjoyable part was the different people i met. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management, typical convenience store
Sales Associate & Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Maple Ridge, BCApril 25, 2012
Pros: extremely personable management, hours were flexible for the most part
Cons: very long hours
The people at this store were the best I've ever had the pleasure to work with. All of the management were extremely understanding and nice. I only left because the hours were slow and I was returning to school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recommended that you only stay with this job for a year or less and moving onto something else--
Sales Clerk/Customer Service (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBApril 25, 2012
Pros: drinks are free, steady hours (32 to 40 on average), dental and other medical needs are available.
Cons: everything else
-- as a 23 year-old young adult, I can say that working at 7-Eleven was one of the worst work experiences I've ever had since graduating high-school in 2008.

A typical day would start off as either me showing up early in the morning... or late at night (Between the hours 10 p.m. and 11 p.m.) to a messy store, the staff member (Normally alone) would – more... be trying to clean up the store as best as possible... but given the nature of the night-shift... and working alone and over-tired, stuff that would normally take five minutes drags on to about half-an-hour or more and it might not get done at all.

The manager would show up and demand to know why those small thing haven't been finished, and the excuse "I didn't have enough time because it was busy tonight--" wasn't accepted. And I would receive a stern talking to and a Pink slip.

The management demanded near-perfection during inspections, and would only accept a rating of 90% or higher. anything below a 90 rating would result in a pink slip for a failed inspection.

The other staff members were also suffering from work related stress issues and many would just not want to show up and were either fired, or they quit on the spot.

Sadly... the most enjoyable part of working at 7-Eleven was "Quitting Time". And as I discovered after working at this one location for three years... the money itself wasn't even worth it in the long run. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Greenville, SCJuly 30, 2014
Cons: standing for long periods of time
fast paced, long shifts. Customers service great among most employees. Advancement opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertaining on a daily bases
Store Manager (Former Employee), Provo, UTJuly 28, 2014
Pros: free slurpees
Cons: no breaks or lunches
Fun. Challenging. Managing new Manager Trainees.
Upper management helped to make me a better manager.
No lunches, or breaks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work place needs better management
sales associate (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILJuly 26, 2014
Cons: no lunch break, no raises, no benefits
I had a lot of pressure and responsibilities for very minimal pay. The customers and co-workers are the reason for working there. The franchisee had no knowledge of how to treat his employees and not much knowledge about the business itself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If your a people person its a great Job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Odessa, TXJuly 26, 2014
Pros: people of all backgrounds
Cons: thieves
I learned to adapt to the people that came into the store. At an older age i had to learn a new language to be able to communicate with a few of my customers. The manager is a great person to work for. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the theives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ejoying My Work Enviroment
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJuly 24, 2014
Pros: promotinons, meeting people, always, being part of a family at work
Cons: working double shifts when no one showed up for work or called out
Laughing and talking to the customers, which made their day even when they were having a bad day. Me an co workers and management always had fun working with the public there was never a dull moment. Meeting new people as they moved to the neighborhood. The hardest part of the job was always trying to keep up with the cleaning of the fountain machines – more... when it was hot an they would leave a mess when you had just cleaned the area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was great because of the relationship i had with my coworkers
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 24, 2014
Pros: great experiance, learned alot, got certain certificates the are great for use now
Cons: too many requirments for such little pay
7eleven was a great establishment for people who dont have a very busy life. It was hard keeping up with their only three scheduales although i had some leaniancy due to my school and lifestyle. the managers were professional and very hard on their workers due to their type of business. It was slighty risky due to the overnight hours and thefs that – more... took place, but thakfully nothiing bad happend. its a job that will keep you on ur feet for long periods of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was defiantly a great job for anyone who love being around people
Certified Sales Associate (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 23, 2014
Over the past two years of my 7-Eleven experience, I've learned a lot about business. Such as, customer service, sales, cooking food, ordering, stocking, checking vendors, cleaning, and managing money in various types. I had an excellent team on my shift and would love to do it all again. My co workers were very great with people and loved working with – more... me. The hardest part about working at 7-Eleven was dealing with angry shoplifters who got caught stealing. The most enjoyable part about 7-Eleven was putting smiles on the customers face. Knowing I satisfied someone makes me happy and I enjoy that a lot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place
Cashier (Former Employee), Macomb, MIJuly 21, 2014
Was alright place to work, Work solo at midnights.......................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work days customer great
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), West Point, UTJuly 21, 2014
Pros: same customers and room to grow
Cons: health care breaks and can only go so far
days always busy same great customers everyday hard work always something to do .store always has to be clean and they push big time on food sells
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible workplace and Extremely unprofessional.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), PhiladelphiaJuly 21, 2014
Pros: flexibilty of work schedule
Cons: poor management.
Poor management, extremely unprofessional, not able to have a home life what so ever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
simple, learning, and memorable
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Aurora, COJuly 21, 2014
Pros: free drinks, great people, social interaction
Cons: short breaks, pay for food
I would clock in 5 minutes early for my shift every day. I would then go through typical cashier job duties at the register. While I was at this I would also work on completing specific job duties laid out to me for the day. Management would often be at the store in the morning on weekdays with the exception of the shift manager, of whom we had at least – more... one on duty for every shift. Overall, my co-workers were pleasant to work with and we often joked around and had fun. Their were some employees, however, that were difficult to work with at times and I had to work around their inabilities in order to complete my tasks. The hardest part of it all would be handling the weekend crowd with a reluctant co-worker who was having personal issues. This did not happen often, but when it did it made the job terribly hard. The job, however, was very enjoyable overall and I gained a lot of knowledge from the experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very busy place to work.
Cashier (Former Employee), Roanoke, VAJuly 21, 2014
On a typical day I do cleaning, handling the register, check inventory or stock the prodcuts. The management there is amazing and it is like a family business. I would definitely go back if I could
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable fast paced enviornment and managable work load
Cashier (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 19, 2014
Pros: free lunch, good hours, flexible time
Cons: no break, no benefits, no advancements
There's a daily routine and goal to accomplish. Always have to keep the place clean. Serve customers and be knowledgeable about the items being sold.

Learned how to be a good cashier, cleaner, inventory, cook, and handle customers with care

Time management was a morning routine, manageable and fit perfect with my time for school.

Co-workers are overall – more... friendly and just wants to help out.

The hardest part of the job was having to help a co-worker resolve their issue with a customer, the co-worker was just being very rude to the customer one day and had to calm down the customer as the co-work added more mayhem to the already existing tension.

The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to meet the usual customers because you get to the point where you know what they're going to order and can ask them about their usual items before they walk into the door. It feels like the perfect communication because the usuals tend to get the same things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field Consultant
Field Consultant (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 18, 2014
Pros: customer service, building teams, p&l management, driving sales
Cons: developing team members to order correctly based off of their training.
Building relationships with store managers, team members, and customers was always very enjoyable. The most challenging part of the job was keeping all team members focused on the ever changing day to day business dynamics.
Day to day operations included the direction of over 90 team members, store operations, P&L management, labor, inventory, staff – more... development, merchandising, and shrink control. In which, resulted in an overall focus on driving sales, building high performance teams, and executing operational efficiency through team accountability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work if you don't have children
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Aurora, OHJuly 17, 2014
Pros: great raises
Cons: no breaks, no control ovver schedule
The hardest part about this job was not being able to be home with my children on weekends or holidays. I was required to work every holiday and every weekend fro the past 2 years.

About 7-Eleven

"If convenience stores are open 24 hours, why the locks on their doors?" If anyone knows, it's 7-Eleven. The North American subsidiary – Read more