Find companies:
7-Eleven
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,108 reviews

7-Eleven Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my favorite jobs.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: great people, great insentives
I loved this job. My boss was great, the people I worked with were wonderful. I had fun, it was fast paced which I love, they let me do my own thing like if clean behind the Slurpee counter which no one else did. Only reason I left was because I moved to a different end of the city.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too many priorities that have immedeat prescedence
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee), Taber, ABJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: great pay and benifits
Cons: the manager and too many priorities- not a good job for young adults new to the working environment
A typical day of work started with finding out what i didn't accomplish on my last shift, then finding out what wasn't done on the shift immedeatly before mine. Next sorting out the many priorities and distributing them between i and my fellow employee(s) unless i was alone so that they could be accomplished efficiently and quickly. customer service – more... always came before shift duties regardless of their impact on the amount of time one had to accomplish shift duties. Most of my co-workers were great to work with. Hardest part of the job was dealing with the manager and remebering all the little details that needed attending during the shift. The most enjoyable part were the people and the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lotsa work but lotsa varied experiences
sales associate (Former Employee), variedDecember 28, 2012
Pros: good experience
Cons: too much work
gained much experience and now need to move on with a fresh start, worked well with a dedicated team of co-workers but working in a crime-filled area has much challenges so hence need a fresh start ...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
many opportunities to learn multi-mini businesses and operations management
senior sales associate (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCDecember 12, 2012
Pros: learning many skills from food safety to lotto skills to inventory management skills
Cons: long hours; watch shoplifting video; report the many shoplifting incidents, that happen almost every day
many tasks ranging from customer service to cleanliness to food preparation to ordering to sales trends develops one's abilities to multi-task more efficiently and thus have a more successful business ... many skills from operating the lottery terminal to restocking cooler properly to repeat customers are the more enjoyable parts of the job while the – more... hardest part of the job is completing all the tasks in a timely satisfactorally manner within a shift ... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get on your feet and generally not a bad job at all
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Powell River, BCNovember 16, 2012
Pros: bar rush! (funny customers just happy to be out of the house) free coffee, soft drinks, and food (so long as the food reached its time limit on the grill or on display.
Cons: bar rush! (angry customers just wanting to get back home), frequent thefts, and a slight chance of robbery
Cleaning, food prep, and customer relations, are essentially your entire job day in and day out. I learned a lot about customer relations and general store management and balancing time between cleaning a store and making sure all customers leave satisfied. The hardest part of the job has to be dealing with unruly customers that really have no consideration – more... for the rules you yourself have to follow (such as food prices and no pets in the store). The best part of the job comes from the satisfaction of having the store spotless and perfectly almost obsessively in order fpr the boss when she or he first walks in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place for close interactions with others
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Salmon Arm, BCNovember 7, 2012
Pros: communication
Cons: overnight shifts
Management and Co-workers were great! Getting to know one another and building skills for the future has been a great experience!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
cashier (Former Employee), Prince George, BCOctober 23, 2012
Pros: good people to work with
Cons: not enough hours
dealing with all kinds of people, learned how to work well as a team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work, stepping stone for future work. A great experience where I learned a lot of things to help me to develop my skills.
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), LucbanOctober 23, 2012
Pros: backpay
Cons: long hours of work without pay.
I learned about customer service and customer care. The management is satisfactory. My co-workers are easy to be with, learning a lot of things with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved dealing with the public
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 18, 2012
Pros: lots of pay raises based on performance
Cons: working nights sleeping during day
Do cash in, serve customers, order ,recieve deliveries,resolving problems ensuring the customer is happy. I learned the skills to work night shift and make decisions without a manager around(did not want to be disturbed at night). Management trusted me to make executive decisions without there help. We were pretty much left alone. My co-worker was great – more... and we worked well togeather.The hardest part of the job was having to sleep during day. Most enjoyable was customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun environment.Enjoyed working with the public.
Certified Sales Associate (Former Employee), Powell River, BCOctober 14, 2012
Started at either 11pm or 4 am.Made sandwiches,wraps,salads and pizza and chicken wings.Learned how to order stores supplies,cleaning of all equipment using cleaning solutions.Was a fast paced environment.Enjoyed working with all employees.Most enjoyed the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didnt apresiate the work enviornment
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Coaldale, ABOctober 12, 2012
Pros: free slurpee's
Cons: to fast passed
the people you work with are to uptight in there work, the work environment you work in is to fast passed and overall the work is terrable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good location, friendly colleagues, benefits
Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 11, 2012
Pros: benefits, free food
Cons: long hours
My job as a cashier helped me to know the professional side of me. Since it was my first job I was helped a lot by my colleagues. I learned to interact with my customers well, became more responsible with money and became more hard-working.

The management team was experienced and well organized. They were helpful and cooperative and motivated me to – more... work efficiently. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice and challenging experience for a new immigrant to work at 7-eleven..
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Richmond, BCSeptember 28, 2012
Pros: 7-eleven provides good training.
Cons: salary is not enough to survive in vancouver.
The company is a nice training ground and they have a nice training program for their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part-time job
Cashier (Former Employee), Lethbridge, ABSeptember 9, 2012
Pros: easy job
Cons: long hours and low pay, mangement had hard time managing students.
Cleaned store and organized products to designated areas within the store while providing customers with required service. I've learned how to communicate with varieties of people. I have had co-workers which were easy to deal with and co-workers that it was difficult to communicate with. The most enjoyable part of my job was the freedom to work with – more... little supervision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7-Eleven
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Oshawa, OnSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: the customers were great
Cons: you were not guaranteed a break.
A typical day at work consisted of cleaning and serving customers. My co-workers were great my manager was pretty good but there was no room to advance in that company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not return
Cashier (Former Employee), Kamloops, BCAugust 16, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: over-working, measely pay
Working at 7-Eleven was okay. I had serious issues about being left alone during graveyard shifts, but that quickly changed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boss is a great leader at this store
Cashier (Current Employee), Prince Albert, SKAugust 10, 2012
Pros: free coffee, and pop
Cons: can't get overtime hours when i can work overtime
A typical day at work is cleaning, cooking , running till at 7-11. while working here i learn to balance work and school. The management is great here, my boss helped me with my shifts to complete school. Co-workers come and go, because of summer holidays, and only few workers are is with 7-11. The hardest part is i can't hardly get overtime. The enjoyable – more... part is working together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Customer Service (Former Employee), London, ONJuly 24, 2012
Pros: good benifits
Cons: long hours
I enjoyed working as a cashier here. I am a people person and I got to know my customers really well. I liked the people I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable place to work with a small amount of people.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Kamloops, BCJuly 10, 2012
Pros: free beverages, good management, independant work environment
Cons: working night shifts consistently
I would arrive to my shift and begin to work with the customers. As is slowed down, I would then figure out the inventory and order such products that we were short on. I'd also have to go outside and measure the gas in the tanks and check all the pumps to make sure they were at adequate levels. Keeping the environment clean and safe was the main key.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we get our drinks for free
Cashier, Cleaning (Current Employee), Creston, BCJuly 5, 2012
Pros: regular customers
Cons: not enough hours and not enough pay.
I took the job because I was promissed full time and I am lucky if I get
8 hours a week. I also have to work evenings which is hard when you are a single parent ad have no family in the area. I like like the customers because most of them are regular and being there for just over 2 months and still training mainly learning where cigarettes are kept – more... most of them are understanding. I am still looking for a full time job, or another part time one.. – less

About 7-Eleven

"If convenience stores are open 24 hours, why the locks on their doors?" If anyone knows, it's 7-Eleven. The North American subsidiary – Read more